HST 495 - Latin America and the Cold War - Sarreal
Need more help?
Curator for Latin American Studies and Interim Curator for Rare Books and Manuscripts
Primary Sources
Oral histories
For more information on primary sources see: https://guides.library.ucla.edu/primary-sources
Government Resources
Declassified Documents Reference System - Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles. This database is also a useful resource for Security Studies.
PAIS International - Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations,public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.
ProQuest Congressional - U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; CRS reports, Committee Prints; National Journal, Congress Daily, and member info. 1789 to present.
Many Federal documents in our collection, prior to 1976, can not be searched through our Online Catalog. It is possible to identify these documents using other resources, including:
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Database indexing government post 1976.
For more information about and links to U.S. Government resources consult this library guide: Federal Government Information.
Research Databases - Journal Articles & News Sources
JSTOR
Full-text access to journals across the disciplines
Historical Abstracts with Full Text 1954-
Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes full-text articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) 1970-
Provides citations to scholarly journals published across the world on Latin America & the Caribbean. Includes political, economic, social issues, and the arts and humanities.
PAIS
Covers the world's public affairs, public & social policies, international relations and world politics published in journals, books and government documents, conference papers, grey literature, research reports and more.
Latin American Newsletter 1967-
An online collection of current news sources in English comprised of local news digests from Latin America and the Caribbean, regional reports, personal briefings, special bulletins, research analyses, 5-year forecasts, and more.
Latin American Network Information Center
Interdisciplinary news resources by country
Access World News 1977-
Indexes local, regional, national & international newspapers. Searches can be limited to South America or countries within South America with papers in Spanish.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals.
Humanities Full Text 1984-
Full text articles published in variety of subjects in the humanities including history
Academic Search Premier 1975-
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Covers a wide range of academic subjects
Google Scholar
Contains scholarly article, books, book chapters, papers etc that can be searched similar to the way Google is searched.
Latin American Newspapers - World News Archive: The first phase of the World Newspaper Archive features more than 35 historical Latin American newspapers. Titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
Searching for Books & Media
ASU Library Catalog Search
Search here for books, music, videos and journal titles:
E-books can be found in a catalog search but Library One Search is the most comprehensive source for e-books owns.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
