Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


HST 495 - Latin America and the Cold War - Sarreal

Comparison: Historical Abstracts vs. JSTOR

There are multiple databases that can be searched for history articles.

America: History & Life focuses on the northern Americas including the U.S. and Canada.

Historical Abstracts With Full Text focuses the rest of the world including the southern Americas and is most appropriate for this course.

JSTOR is not a typical database the way the above databases are but it does offer search options.

Other relevant databases are listed on the Getting Started page.

Check out this table for a short comparison of Historical Abstracts and JSTOR. Brief guides on using these databases are listed under this tab: Searching Databases.

Feature

Historical Abstracts

JSTOR

 

 

 

Focuses on history

X

 

Has article abstracts

X

 

Has full text

X

X

Limit results to source type [articles]

X

X

Limit results to dates

X

X

Articles in English & Spanish

X

X

Includes books

X

X

 

 

 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.