Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Film

A guide supporting the study and production of Film across ASU.

Film Indexes

Screen Studies Collection

The first stop for any serious research on film or films.  Database includes:

  • AFI Catalog (the American Film Institute):  a comprehensive and detailed catalog of American films; 
  • FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals: the leading database of film journals and articles;
  • Film Index International:  a database of film journals and articles that focuses on international film.

TLS Historical Archive

  •  The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive contains every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902-2011.

ASU Library Film Journals

General Article Indexes with Film Content

Popular, Trade and Scholarly: Article Publication Types

Depending on the focus of the class, your professor may want you to find particular types of sources for your research assignments.  This is especially important in the world of articles, which come in three main types:  Popular, Trade and Scholarly.  So what should you look for it your professor says you must or should be using one of these types of articles?  

The ASU Library has an online tutorial you can view that will define each type of articles.  We also have a handout your can view and refer to. 

But in Film Studies Trade Journals are especially valuable if you are studying the industry and film production.  Trade Journals are regularly published titles that reports on the news of the day and recent developments in a particular industry.  The articles and news items are written by reporters who follow the industry closely.  

Hours and Locations