REL 394: Religion and Sports: Journal Articles
Multidisciplinary Databases
Multidisciplinary
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost): Covers a wide range of academic subjects, including full-text for thousands of scholarly publications.
JSTOR: Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
Project Muse - Premium Collection: Peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from university presses, non-profit publishers, and scholarly societies.
ProQuest: A collection of databases, incluidng dissertations and theses. Searches can be run on a single database, on a grouping of databases, or single databases. The ability to search across multiple databases is particularly useful for researching multi-disciplinary topics. See a list of databases.
Google Scholar via ASU: Search for scholarly literature with a GetItatASU easy access.
Religious Studies Journal Articles: Indexes and Databases
General
ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS (1949+): A comprehensive article index, covering journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
- Globethics.net Library: Digital libraries that offer registered users electronic access free-of-charge to thousands of full-text documents on ethics and related disciplines. Participants also have the possibility to submit their own documents to the libraries.
- Open Access Journals in Religious Studies: The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Specific Traditions
Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971+): Covers western-language materials; indexes books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes,conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (1500+): Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (1981+): Covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
Index Theologicus (InTheo): Indexes published literature fron journals and Fesrchriften in Theology and Religious Studies. Tübingen University Library.
Index Islamicus (1906+): Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library.
JSTOR Jewish Studies Archive Collection (Full-Text): "This collection includes published content dating back to 1889, as well as titles in English, German, French, Dutch, Italian, and Hebrew. This collection includes key publications of the Association for Jewish Studies, Rabbi Isaac Elchanan Theological Seminary, Hebrew Union College, Rabbinical Council of America, and the National Association of Professors of Hebrew. A number of titles with historical depth are also featured, including the oldest English-language journal in the field of Jewish studies."
Index to Jewish Periodicals (1988+): Provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Covers Jewish history, activity and thought, and others interested in contemporary Jewish and MiddleEastern affairs. Some full-text.
Jewish Studies Source: Covers several hundred full-text titles, including leading Jewish Studies academic journals, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers. Contains over 400 full-text titles and extensive full-text backfiles. Sources comprising the collection include full-text for leading academic journals within the discipline, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, and over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews.
Additional Indexes
Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies (International Medieval Bibliography Online, 1967+): Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas
Kennedy Institute of Ethics Databases
Redalyc.org: Full-text articles about Latin America.
Handbooks of Latin American Studies Index
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies.
* A coprehensive list of indexes maintained by Saundra Lipton of the University of Calgary Library is available at http://people.ucalgary.ca/~lipton/indexes.html.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
