REL 394: Religion and Sports: Statistics, Reports, Polls
Polls, Statistics, Reports
Resources for North America
American Value Atlas: A tool created by the nonprofit, nonpartisan organization Public Religion Research Institute (PRRI) to research the intersection of religion, values, and public life in America. Rsults are based on 50,000 annual telephone interviews among a random sample of Americans.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Includes a variety of means to search and navigate the vast amount of data in the Historical Statistics.
Humanities Indicators Prototype: Includes statistical data on the condition of the humanities across the nation; offered by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
Faith Communities Today: Research surveys and practical reports about congregational life, conducted and published by the Cooperative Congregations Studies Partnership, a multi-faith group of religious researchers and faith leaders.
Index to Current Urban Documents: Includes published guide to reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in 500 selected cities in the US and Canada.
iPoll Databank: A comprehensive, up-to-date and the largest archives of US public opinion information. 1935-present.
The Pew Research Center for the People and the Press: An independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.
American FactFinder: By the the Census Bureau.
Worldwide Resources
Association of Religion Data Archives: Provides statistical data about religious communities.
Country Studies: Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
EarthTrends: An online collection of information regarding the environmental, social and economic trends that shape our world such as statistical, graphic, and analytical data. Information about water resources, poverty and economic conditions.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU): Provides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200 countries as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments. Includes the online version of the Financial Services Reports series, the Country Profile series, Country Commerce, Country Finance, the Business Briefings series, the Economist, Global Outlook, and selected Country Forecast series.
eHRAF World Cultures: Human Relations Area Files is an institution founded to encourage & facilitate the study of human culture, society, & behavior. Covers ethnography by culture & subject, including family relationships, political organization, ideas about gender, etc.
Gallup - Religion: Polling data about religion, mostly United States.
Global Legal Information Network (GLIN): A public database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations.
Google Public Data Explorer: Large public datasets with visuals, such as charts and graphs.
LexisNexis Statistical Insight: Indexes statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations. Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.
OECD iLibrary: Provides access to the full text of selected studies produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. OECD and IEA statistics are included under the Statistics tab.
Political Risk Services (PRS Online): Provides political, geographical, social, and economic data on 100 countries. Includes brief overviews and comprehensive country reports. Ideal tool to determine economic risk for international business.
Source OECD Studies: Provides access to the OECD and IEA statistical databases, journals, monographs, annual reports, working papers and reference documents produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Statistical data can be downloaded for use in spreadsheets.
UNdata: A World of Information: The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) offers numerous databases, tables and glossaries covering a wide range of themes.
World Development Indicators Online (WDI) : Data source on the global economy. Contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data since 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
