REL 394: Religion and Sports: News and Opinions
Opinion Articles in Newspapers and Magazines
Newspaper Articles
Access World News (1977+): Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Alt-PressWatch (1970+): Covers selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1960+): Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.
Lexis-Nexis Academic: Full text of 5,000+ newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals. Includes company directories/ financial; Hoover reports; quotations; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; Public Opinion Polls. See LexisNexis Topic Guide; and LexisNexis Mobile.
New York Times: 1850-Present. Youy must be physically on campus to create your account.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982): Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada.
Opinions
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: A full-text database providing differing points of view from articles on current social issues.
- ProCon - Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues: Offered by a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity; includes linked media excerpts.
International Resources
African Newspapers: A collection on nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe. The Center for Research Libraries.
Latin American Newsletters: The collection includes approximately 35 fully searchable historical Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela. The Center for Research Libraries.
Historical Newspapers
Chronicling America: Information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Offered by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) with partnership with the Library of Congress.
Chronicling America - Arizona Newspapers: Almost 1,700 newspaper titles from Arizona.
Historical German periodicals from Central and Eastern Europe: The Institute for East and Southeast European Studies (Regensburg/Germany; 47 periodicals from the territory of today’s Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Slovenia, Serbia, Ukraine, Latvia, Russia and Georgia.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century, including Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Defender, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Observer, and Washington Post.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers: A collection of historically significant African American newspapers which provides primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
