FIS 337 - Innovation and Global Development
Literature Reviews and Annotated Bibliographies
What is a Literature Review?
An overview of the significant literature published on a topic. Rather than evaluating each source separately, a lit review is written in essay form, and explains how each work is similar to and how it varies from the others.
For more detailed information, see How to Write a Literature Review.
Example of an undergraduate literature review for a Psychology class on Adolescent Depression. Includes corrections and comments.
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
An Annotated Bibliography is a list of all the sources you are going to use to write your paper. "Annotations" are short paragraphs that describe and evaluate each one of those sources separately.
Writing an Annotated Bibliography is an excellent resource to understand exactly what an annotated bibliography is, select appropriate resources and suggest useful language for the annotations.
About Articles
- The Parts of Research ArticlesThis handout shows the parts of research articles.
- Tutorial - Finding and Using Article TypesBy the end of this tutorial you will be able to:
Recognize what articles are
Understand there are different types of articles
Distinguish characteristics of different article types
Identify different article types in research database search results
Limit database searches to types of articles
Scholarly Articles
Scholarly articles are published in academic journals. ASU Library subscribes to reputable databases that contain credible and reliable sources. Not every article in each database is full text right there. If no HTML or PDF file is right there, please use the Get It @ ASU button to find the full text in the ASU Library.
If you are wondering about the scholarliness of a journal, we use Ulrichsweb to verify that the journal is scholarly and if it is also peer-reviewed. You look up the name of the journal. the text of the entry tells you if it is academic and in the columns on the left, the little black & white referee shirt icon tells you if the journal is refereed, also called peer-reviewed.
Humanities Division
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
