FIS 337 - Innovation and Global Development

In addition to the other resources in this Library Guide, the following items have been highlighted to help you prepare for class sessions and assignments:

Weekly Topics - Use Background Research resources to search your terms

Peer Reviews - The main purpose for using peer editing or small-group editing is feedback… helpful feedback. 

• Peer Editing Strategies - Resources from the University of Richmond Writing Center
• Peer Editing Guide from the International Reading Association
• Guidelines for Peer Editing and Reviewing - Wittenberg University

ASU Library Databases -  Over 600 library-selected resources, searchable by topic/subject or resource type (Biographies to Government Documents to Tests and Measurements).

International News

• Access World News - full-text information and perspectives from several thousand U.S. and international newspapers and newswire sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Also includes broadcast transcripts, business magazines and miscellaneous other source types.
  • Shortcuts to world regions
  • Specialized Current Events links
• Latin American Newsletters - An online collection of current news sources in English comprised of local news digests from Latin America and the Caribbean, regional reports, personal briefings, special bulletins, research analyses, 5-year forecasts, and more.
• Nexis Uni - Provides full text of selected newspapers worldwide, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, biographies, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, and news transcripts.
• New York Times
• ProQuest News and Newspapers - Allows for cross-searching of the Alt-PressWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch indexes as well as current Arizona Republic, Barron's, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Wall Street Journal Asia, Wall Street Journal Europe and Chicago Tribune

Country Info

• Access UN - Access UN serves primarily as an ongoing Web-based index to more than 500,000 current and archived United Nations documents and publications, contained in our microfiche collection. Access UN also provides the full text or links to the full text of more than 35,000 of these documents and publications. Useful for research on international problems of an economic, social, cultural, or humanitarian nature.
• Census Bureau International Programs - The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and offers access to their data.
• CIA World Factbook -  information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
• OECD iLibrary - Accesses studies, periodicals, and statistical annuals produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. In addition, OECD and IEA statistics are searchable under the Statistics tab.
• State Department - Information dealing with US relations with world regions and individual countries

Miscellaneous 

• CQ Researcher -  in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
• Statistical Databases 
• Science and Technology Resources - Gray Literature resources
• Technical Reports - Government sponsored research