Login to LibApps


ENG 215, Strategies of Academic Writing: General Starting Points

Support for research and writing assignments in ENG 215.

Library One Search

Library One Search  

Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

Multidisciplinary Indexes and Databases

These database/indexes cover all subject areas (multidisciplinary) and are good starting points for any research project.  Depending on your assignment and the depth of research you need to do, many students can find everything they need in these tools.  BUT if you are in advanced classes and are expected to complete a comprehensive literature review, these are only starting points!  You will want to use the specialized subject databases and indexes in the other tabs.  

Academic Search Premier

This is the most useful and easiest to use index/database in the ASU Library's system.  It is a good source for starting a research project if you want to get an overview of your topic from many different disciplinary perspectives.  You will retrieve a mix of popular and scholarly articles, so choose carefully.  

Google Scholar

Google Scholar attempts to cover all of the academic publishing world in its database, books, journal articles and some other miscellaneous sources.  It really is not a bad place to start your research but it is not infallible.  Use the ASU Library's link to Google Scholar and you will be provided links into our online collections (though often hard to find).  

JSTOR

JSTOR is a favorite tool for many scholars because it covers many important selected scholarly journals (and now some books) and provides historical coverage if that is something you need.  But it does not index or provide journal publications from roughly the last five years.  Some journal titles go back to the 17th century.  

Two Unique Index/Databases

Hours and Locations