Login to LibApps

History Unfolded: Arizona Newspapers and the Holocaust: The Wagner-Rogers “Child Refugee” Bill (1939)

A collaborative project of ASU Library, Histo-News Club, Upward Bound, and the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum to discover what Americans knew about the Holocaust as it was happening

History Unfolded Event: Child Refugee Bill Fails in Senate (1939)

USHMM Event to research: Senator Robert Wagner withdrew support for his own bill after opponents amended it to maintain the existing immigration quota (February–July 1939).

Child Refugee Bill Fails in Senate

Online Access to Arizona Newspapers

Most of the newspapers published in Arizona during the 1930s and 1940s are not available online, including major publications such as Arizona Republic.

 

The following digitized newspapers are the only ones available online at this point (listed the US Holocaust Museum page):  

  1. The Pine: Official publication of the Associated Students of Northern Arizona Normal School (original name of Northern Arizona University), The Pine was first published weekly during the years 1933–1945.
  2. Prescott Evening Courier: This newspaper was published daily, except Sundays. Most issues are available for the years 1933–1945.
  3. El Tusconense: ​This Spanish-language newspaper was was published twice a week during the years 1933–1945.

 

Additional historic newspapers, including the Arizona Republic, are available on microfilm at ASU Library and the Arizona State Library. Researching microfilms must be done on site, with the aid of special readers. 

Research Resources

For weekly assignments, use the "For Your Research Project" tab on this guide.


Encyclopedias

Searching the Holocaust Encylopedia

Encyclopedia Judaica

The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe


Research Databases

Academic Search PremierA multidisciplinary article database which covers thousands of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals.

Jewish Studies SourceThis database covers several hundred full-text titles, including leading Jewish Studies academic journals, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers.

 

Hours and Locations