Login to LibApps

History Unfolded: Arizona Newspapers and the Holocaust: Senior Project

A collaborative project of ASU Library, Histo-News Club, Upward Bound, and the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum to discover what Americans knew about the Holocaust as it was happening

Senior Project

For your Senior Project, read and/ or listen to The Children of Willesden Lane: Beyond the Kindertransport: A Memoir of Music, Love, and Survival by Mona Golabek and Lee Cohen. Based on your interpretation, create your own Willesden Lane Picture Book.

  • Ask two of the questions from the Willesden Lane Read schedule
  • How is a refugee like an immigrant? What is the main difference between the meanings of the two words? 
  • In class: While listening, draw your perspective of the chapter or a scene.
  • Homework: Complete creative drawing and write about the drawing for viewers to understand or get a glimpse of what the picture is stating.  

Bring all drawings and writings back to class for grade each week.  These drawings will be used to create a book to use for the end of the semester. The grade will be based on your writing from the READ about your drawing and the drawings. Each will give an oral presentation by showcasing their completed books.

 

USHMM Learn More (Searching the Holocaust Encylopedia)

The United States and the Holocaust (Encyclopedia Article)

United States Policy and its Impact on European Jews (Encyclopedia Article)

Franklin Delano Roosevelt (Encyclopedia Article)

Refugees (Encyclopedia Article)

Emigration and the Evian Conference (Encyclopedia Article)

Obstacles to Emigration (Encyclopedia Article)

 

Additional Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Judaica

The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe

History Unfolded Citizen Historian Project: Upward Bound Senior Class

Uploading a news article to Unfolded History database at the US Holocaust Memorial Museum

Uploading a 1939 news article from Arizona, with Norma Owens, Project Leader and President of Histo-News Student Club

Researching historical events (1933–1945) that led to the Holocaust

Article about Jewish refugees in the Pine (1939)

Historical research of Arizona newspapers

Watching the Yad Vashem produced film, "A Nations Remembers"

Hours and Locations