17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers A digitized and searchable version of the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, proclamations, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Part I: c. 1660-1900 Part II: Medieval and Renaissance
19th Century British Newspapers Includes parts 1 and 2 of the 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection, which contains full runs of 48 newspapers representing nineteenth century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the industrial manufacturing towns of the Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
British Periodicals, I-IV: British Periodicals Collections I-IV (from ProQuest) provides facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the seventeenth century through the twentieth. The equivalent of more than 6 million pages from nearly 500 popular periodicals. Subject areas emphasized include archaeology, architecture, art, drama, fine arts, history, literature, music, philosophy, science and social sciences.
Center for Research Libraries Digital Collections: African Newspapers - World Newspaper Archive Part of the World Newspaper Archive, more than 40 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Sub-Saharan Africa offer an unrivaled viewpoint into a time of drastic change. A wide range of colonial era viewpoints is chronicled in titles from Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and other locales. Latin American Newspapers - World News Archive: The first phase of the World Newspaper Archive features more than 35 historical Latin American newspapers. Titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012 A searchable collection of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to present (with the exception of the last five years). Each weekly issue contains news reporting and analysis, commentary, editiorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs.
Eighteenth Century Journals Eighteenth Century Journals draws together material from some of the finest archives across the UK and the US representing the rich variety of the eighteenth century press. It makes available unique and extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals online conveying the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835. While the journals were published predominantly in the UK, there are items published in other English-speaking areas such as India.
The Moscow News Digital Archive The Moscow News Digital Archive offers scholars the most comprehensive collection available for this title. Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia. The pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. The Moscow News Digital Archive contains most published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).
Times (of London) Digital Archive, 1785 - 2009: The Times (of London) Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of The Times; a resource for 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785. The Times for several centuries has bes considered by many to be the paper of record for the English-speaking world.
Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 Provides access to the full run of a British weekly newspaper noted for its analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
African American Newspapers, 1827 - 1902 This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.
Archive of Americana The Archive of Americana, Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker series, offers more than 100,000 early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials. The archives feature extensive indexing and full bibliographic information, together illuminating more than 250 years of American history, literature, culture and daily life. Unique and authoritative, these fully searchable products enable researchers to browse and explore America’s past in unprecedented ways.
Caribbean Newspapers, Series I, 1718 - 1876: Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection: The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers (primarily the Twentieth Century) A collection of historically significant African American newspapers which provides primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Newspapers covered are: Atlanta Daily World; Baltimore Afro American; Chicago Defender; Cleveland Call And Post; Los Angeles Sentinel; New York Amsterdam News; Norfolk Journal And Guide; Philadelphia Tribune; Pittsburg Courier
Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online 1841-1902 Brooklyn's main daily paper from 1841 to 1902. The Web site includes an introduction to the paper's history over its long tenure as Brooklyn's main daily paper as well as a timeline of the important changes to the paper's format, layout, and content organization. Chronicles the communities' history while under the reins of a host of well-regarded editors, including Walt Whitman.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. States included in this essential and invaluable digital repository are: Alabama; Arizona; California; Colorado; District of Columbia; Florida; Hawaii; Illinois; Kansas; Kentucky; Louisiana; Minnesota; Missouri; Montana; Nebraska; New Mexico; New York; Ohio; Oklahoma; Oregon; Pennsylvania; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Utah; Vermont; Virginia; Washington(state). For Further information concerning the history of American Newspapers, use the Library of Congress' US Newspaper Directory, 1690 - Present
Civil War Collection We have access to Part I-IV of Civil War Collection from ACCESSIBLE ARCHIVES.
Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690 - 1876: Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and provides unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods. Additionally, EAN, Series I is cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana® collections held by ASU Library.
Hispanic-American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980: Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
Historical African American Newspapers Online: This LibGuide produced by Elizabeth Clarke of Marist College provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google.
Historical Newspapers Online ( U of Pennsylvania Libraries) This table provides a list of historical U.S. newspapers that are available online at no cost.
Indianapolis Recorder, 1899-2005: What began as a two-page church bulletin by co-founders George Pheldon Stewart and William H. Porter, the Indianapolis Recorder is now one of the top African-American publications in the nation. Established in 1897, the Indianapolis Recorder focused on local people and events in Indianapolis but also reported national events.
The Lily The Lily, the first newspaper for women in the United States, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894). It had a local and national focus on both temperance and women’s rights.
Pennsylvania Gazette Collection The Pennsylvania Gazette was considered the paper of record for colonial and revolutionary America. The full text coverage spans the time from significant early eastern colonial expansion ( 1728) through the first true world war ( 1763) and then through the Revolution ( with the government centered in Philadelphia) and then including the Constitutional Convention and Washington’s two terms. Coverage continues through 1800.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project, 1895 - present: The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project makes available more than one hundred years of Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh. The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project is composed of the Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), the American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), the Jewish Chronicle (1962-present), and the Y-JCC series (1926-1975). Note: This site will work best on a desktop computer with an up-to-date browser. A PDF reader is required
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922; Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; ;ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990
Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.
Richmond Daily Dispatch, 1860 - 1865 The Richmond Daily Dispatch is a collaboration between the University of Richmond, Tufts University's Perseus Project, and the Virginia Center for Digital History. There are currently 1384 issues of the paper available online, ranging in date from November 1860 through December 1865.
Virginia Gazette, 1736 - 1780: The first paper published in Virginia, the Gazette is one of the most important southern newspapers for the colonial and revolutionary periods. While t here are some gaps and searching is by year, the Colonial Williamsburg digital Virginia Gazette provides online access to an important early American newspaper. In addition, there is a complementary online Index of Topics.
Wikipedia: List of online newspaper archives This is a list of free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives. Most are scanned from microfilm into pdf, gif or similar graphic formats and many of the graphic archives have been indexed into searchable text databases
Access World News Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Arizona Republic Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. For access to older articles, 1987-1998, see CD-News: Arizona Republic January 1999 to present
Chicago Tribune Chicago Tribune (1985-present) indexes each issue thoroughly, covering not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1960+) Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media
Nexis Uni Full text of over 5,000 newspapers( including major US newspaers such as the New York Times), trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals.
Los Angeles Times, 1985+ This is the current editions of the LA Times back to 1985 and continues the Historical LA Times
NewsBank NewsFile CDROM : Historical Files 1980 - 1998 Provides full text access to selected articles from over 500 U. S. and Canadian newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts. NewsBank Newsfile (1996-1998) which includes full text on the CD and NewsBank Reference Services Plus (1980-1996) which provides citations to the microfiche collection of the full text articles. NOTE: Because of software requirements, this database can only be accessed from ASU Library student/public/staff workstations
Wall Street Journal (1986+) Full text access to the Wall Street Journal. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.