Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - Western Europe: Article Databases

Covering the history of Western Europe ( including the United Kingdom) from the Fifteenth Century forward

ASU Databases

Academic Search Premier Includes some full text

 great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics. 
Tip
: Check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals.

Bibliography of British and Irish History  Bibliography of resources dealing with the history of the British Isles, British Empire and Commonwealth from 55BC to the present. Database includes books, articles in books and journal articles.

Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies (International Medieval Bibliography Online (1967+) Index to journal articles and miscellaneous publications (conference proceedings, essay collections) on the Middle Ages published worldwide starting in 1967. Includes citations on over 300,000 articles on the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Dissertations and Theses  (1861+) Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also covers masters theses since 1962. Starting in the early to mid-1900's, the full text is included for an increasingly comprehensive number of dissertations and theses.  

Historical Abstracts  Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations published since 1954 on the history of the world except for North America covering the time period from 1450 to the present,

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance  A newly incorporated, non-profit research project to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and, eventually, to the Middle Ages (400-1500), by creating online bibliographies.

 JSTOR Includes full text   Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  The pre-eminent online dictionary containing 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. An illustrated collection of remarkable people in any walk of life.  A must use resource for any history of Britain and its peoples.

Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text;  Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching.Periodical Index Online, 1665 - 1995

Reference and General Resources

eBooks

ACLS Humanities Ebook  The ACLS Humanities EBook is a collaboration of eight learned societies, nearly 75 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan?s Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history, recommended and reviewed by historians. 

Cambridge Histories Online  A truly fantastic site to gain historical context and overview for a very wide variety of historical eras, areas, topics and subjects.  This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.

eBooks on EBSCOhost  Provides full-text books from many of the world's leading commercial publishers and university presses. Includes a wide range of scholarly, reference, and professional titles.  Subjects covered include Arts & Entertainment; Business & Economy; Computer & Internet; Education; Health; History; Government & Law; Recreation & Sports; Reference; Science & Technology; Social Sciences; Society & Culture.

EBook Central:  Ebook Central is a platform that provides access to electronic books acquired by Arizona State University Library. Titles formerly found on Ebrary and MyiLibrary migrated to Ebook Central. See eBooks LibGuide

Hathi Trust:   HathiTrust is a collaborative partnership of major research institutions and libraries worldwide. It is a shared digital repository of library books and journals converted from print owned by research institutions. It is an emerging repository which has collection spans over several centuries, and in hundreds of languages.

 The Online Books Page  This website collects links to major general and specialized online book collections.  Well worth exploring if you're having trouble tracking down e-books or online monographic collections

Past Masters  One of the largest full-text humanities databases in the world. Includes definitive editions of the full corpora ofthe seminal figures of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence ranging from ancient Greece to the late 19th century.

Project Muse Open Access eBooks: Project MUSE Open Access ebooks are open access peer-reviewed digital books from major university presses and scholarly publishers.

eReference Collections

 Gale Virtual Reference Library  a searchable collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

 Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  The pre-eminent online dictionary containing 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. An illustrated collection of remarkable people in any walk of life.  A must use resource for any history of Britain and its peoples.

Oxford English Dictionary  Regarded as the most authoritative & comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, & the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries

Oxford Reference Online Oxford Reference Online brings together encyclopedias and scholarly reference titles from many of Oxford University Press language and subject reference works, into a single cross-searchable resource. Oxford Reference contains all content currently available on Oxford Reference Online and the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.

Credo Reference Online  Credo provides full-text online access to a lot of reference books in all major subjects, from almost every major discipline. Also includes dictionaries for major European languages and biographical reference resources.

Hours and Locations