Skip to main content

History - Western Europe: Primary Sources

Covering the history of Western Europe ( including the United Kingdom) from the Fifteenth Century forward

Primary Sources

Internet Primary Source Sites Relating to History

Primary Source Sites available through the ASU Library

 

Artemis Primary Sources  A Discovery Portal providing cross resource access to ASU subscribed Gale primary source collections Artemis Primary Sources is a single interface which provides workflow tools and features such as a topic finder, term frequency graphs, search assist functionality, mobile compatibility, and interface translation, along with an easier and more dynamic search to enable users to cross search the following Gale Digital Collections: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection19th Century British Newspapers19th Century UK Periodicals Economist Historical Archive 1843-2011, Eighteenth Century Collections Online Indigenous Peoples: North AmericaNineteenth Century Collections OnlineNineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersSunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006Times Digital Archive 1785-2009Times Literary SupplementDeclassified Documents Reference System - US

Defining Gender Online: 1450 - 1910 This database brings together approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets are featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals. Structured into five sections, the following are currently available: Section I: Conduct and Politeness - Available; Section II: Domesticity and the Family - Available

Early English Books Online (1475-1700) From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short- Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of more than 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Empire Online This database brings together approximately 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world. Topics range from early European exploration to 21st century imperialism. It is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Section II: Literature and Empire; Section III: The Visible Empire; Section IV: Religion and Empire; Section V: Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c.1607-2007.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-63, On-Line (1957-63) Provides historians and political scientists with direct access to documents from the highest level of Government during the Macmillan Administration. Contains 30,000 original documents, as well as five essays on the Macmillan Administration.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) NCCO is a global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections published during the nineteenth century. It provides access to rare primary sources, and includes important works sourced from leading libraries worldwide. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.

Periodical Archive Online (1770-1995) PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. 

State Papers Online State Papers Online is a collection of English government documents originating from the 16th and 17th centuries featuring the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch, as facsimile manuscript documents accessed directly or via the fully searchable Calendar. This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy. The collection includes: Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic, Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council, Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic, Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council

 

Historical Newspapers - Western Europe

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers A digitized and searchable version of the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, proclamations, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Part I: c. 1660-1900 Part II: Medieval and Renaissance

19th Century British Newspapers Includes parts 1 and 2 of the 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection, which contains full runs of 48 newspapers representing nineteenth century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the industrial manufacturing towns of the Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012  A searchable collection of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to present (with the exception of the last five years). Each weekly issue contains news reporting and analysis, commentary, editiorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs.

The Moscow News Digital Archive The Moscow News Digital Archive offers scholars the most comprehensive collection available for this title. Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia. The pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. The Moscow News Digital Archive contains most published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).

 ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer, 1791 - 2003
 

Times (of London) Digital Archive, 1785 - 2009: The Times (of London) Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of The Times; a resource for 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.  The Times for several centuries has bes considered by many to be the paper of record for the English-speaking world.

Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006  Provides access to the full run of a British weekly newspaper noted for its analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.

Retrospective Periodicals - Western Europe

19th Century UK Periodicals Full text collection of series 1 (New Rederships) and Series 2 (Empire) or UK periodicals from the 19th century, representating the range of nineteenth-century periodical literature of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions, in short, of all aspects of nineteenth-century life that the press encompassed.

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012  A searchable collection of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to present (with the exception of the last five years). Each weekly issue contains news reporting and analysis, commentary, editiorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs.

Eighteenth Century Journals Eighteenth Century Journals draws together material from some of the finest archives across the UK and the US representing the rich variety of the eighteenth century press. It makes available unique and extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals online conveying the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835. While the journals were published predominantly in the UK, there are items published in other English-speaking areas such as India.

Internet Library of Early Journals ILEJ, the "Internet Library of Early Journals" was a joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, conducted under the auspices of the eLib (Electronic Libraries) Programme. It aimed to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data.

Krokodil Digital Archive  A satirical Soviet magazine which began publishing in 1922.Useful for understanding Soviet political science, history and literature

 The Modernist Journals Project  The MJP is a multi-faceted project that aims to be a major resource for the study of modernism and its rise in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922 (though the earliest journals that currently appear on the site date from 1896 and 1904), and a geographical range that extends to wherever English language periodicals were published.

Hours and Locations