The Map and Geospatial Hub works in three core areas: resources, education, collaboration.
We’re a center for geospatial data, maps, geographic imagery, and the related software and hardware tools that can be used to bring them to life as powerful, value-added information.
We design fun, engaging programming to teach the community how to integrate spatial analysis, map interpretation, data management, and geovisualization into their research and learning goals.
We draw upon our ever-expanding technical expertise and a collaborative professional network to lead and support transdisciplinary research projects across the university and beyond.
The library makerservices provide hands-on experience with equipment and tools free for ASU students, faculty and staff from all disciplines and backgrounds to inspire creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship.
Select CQ Researcher Plus Archive
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Alternate titles: CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, CQ Political Reference Suite
A multidisciplinary article database which covers thousands of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
Newspapers provide a snapshot of what is going on in our society. These databases cover local, national, and international sources, historical and current. There are also specialized sources that provide perspective from outside the popular, 'mainstream' media.
Provides access to selected educational and documentary films from leading distributors covering nine broad subject areas (Art & Architecture, Diversity, Health Science, History, Literature/Language, Music/Performing Arts, Psychology/Counseling, Science/Engineering, and Social Sciences).
The ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of digital images and related data and the tools to make active use of those images. The Charter Collection contains approximately 300,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines. The collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design aswell as many other forms of visual culture.
Requirements: Java, flash player (Download Flash Player), pop-up blocking software must be disabled or allow pop-up windows from www.artstor.org
Films on Demand, from Films Media Group (FMG), is a comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos available for video streaming to the computer desktop. Titles cover a wide range of topics organized into subject folders. Individual Learning Objects for each title subdivide the videos into smaller segments.
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides materials supporting different points of view on current social issues. The materials include viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, scholarly articles and links to subject-indexed web sites.
(See section on Self-Driving Cars)
Oxford Reference Online brings together encyclopedias and scholarly reference titles from many of Oxford University Press language and subject reference works, into a single cross-searchable resource.
Search for 'automobiles' then limit by aspect or format.
The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
Search for 'automobiles' and then limit.
ProQuest Congressional provides access to federal legislative bills, statutes, committee hearings, committee reports, and voting history while also covering executive branch documents and executive orders.
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States and its people.
Alternate titles: Statistical Abstract of the United States
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources. It Includes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations.
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news, recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.
Alternate titles: Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. It offers new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
Search for 'automobiles' and then limit.
Access Information: Please note: This is a trial database. Access is active through January 2018.
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender, and modern social history – past, present, and future.