Login to LibApps


ASU Library @ Fan Fusion

We can't wait to show you our rare sci-fi and comic book special collections at booth 1491! Drop by to say hello!

Today's theme: Star Wars!

Visit us at Booth 1491 at the Lower Exhibit Hall 

(SE corner next to Sebastien Millon and Dino Art Prints)

Phoenix Fan Fusion red bird logoASU Library Arizona State University logo

Panel sessions

Pulp Fiction, Counter Culture, and Hebrew Westerns

Did you know that Westerns are one of the first film and television genres? More than that, since the 1950s Westerns have been inspiring fan and pulp fiction not just in the United States, but across the globe!

Join a panel of experts as they talk about pulp fiction and western stories which were highly popular in Israel throughout the 1950s and 1960s counterculture movement, but take place in Arizona! You will even get the chance to see some original, several decades old pulp fiction publications.

Presenters: Rachel Leket-Mor (Librarian, ASU), Kevin Sandler (ASU Faculty)
Where and when: 227ABC, 12-1pm

 

Here Today, Here Tomorrow! How to Preserve Your Comics & Collectibles

Nerds are like dragons, they horde all their favorite fandom merch. But what’s the best way to store, handle, and display your treasures so they will last as long as you love them? Or who do you call if your favorite books, posters, action figures, costumes, or artwork gets damaged?

Whether it’s a limited edition box of Frankenberry cereal, or an 18th century book, the preservation experts from ASU Library have tips and tricks to help you preserve it! Join a panel of preservation experts as they give an introduction to preservation, teach you how to find and hire a conservator, and share some easy and affordable ways you can protect and preserve all kinds of collectibles!

Presenters: Suzy Morgan, ASU Library Conservator, Abigail Merritt, ASU Library Preservation Specialist
Where and when: 132ABC, 12-1pm
 

Histories of Horror

Join a panel of professors, librarians, and horror buffs to discuss the history and development of some of our favorite and most frightening of the horror genre including fiction, film, and video games. Learn a little about what makes horror so appealing and appalling, attempts to censor it, and where it all came from in the first place. Finally, get some great personalized recommendations for new reads and films!

Presenters: Matt Ogborn, Mimmo Bonanni, and Ashley Gohr (ASU Librarians), Michelle Martinez (ASU Faculty), Timothy Provenzano
Where and when: 128AB, 6-7pm

Trading cards -
Today only!

Carrie Fisher as Princess Leia

Photograph of Carrie Fisher dressed as Princess Leia signed, "Best wishes to Nick. Love, Carrie Fisher (Princess L.)"

Signed photograph: "Best wishes to Nick. Love, Carrie Fisher (Princess L.)"

Publicity and merchandising materials from the first three Star Wars films comprise the Nicholas A. Salerno Star Wars Collection (1976-2005) at the ASU Library. Schedule an appointment with the Rare Books and Manuscripts Curator to see this collection.

Call number: Distinctive Collections Nicholas A. Salerno Star Wars Collection MSS-364 Series II: Photographs Box 4

 

Star Wars [Milḥemet ha-kokhavim]

Cover of Hebrew Star Wars comic book featuring a Millennium Falcon

Queen Comics: Ra'anana, Israel (1986) by Archie Goodwin and Roy Thomas and translated by ʻAmos ʻEran

Translated from the 1977 Marvel Comics series, this Hebrew-language issue is the only surviving copy in any library worldwide. Fun fact: the text on the upper band says, “Stan Lee Presents: Star Wars.”

Call number: Distinctive Collections SPEC PAM-4588

 

Star Wars Action Figures

Photograph of Star Wars action figures with Lando Calrissian featured prominently

Lando Calrissian action figure, 1980

The Nicholas A. Salerno Star Wars Collection (1976-2005) houses publicity and merchandising primarily from the first three Star Wars movies, now referred to as the middle trilogy. Schedule an appointment with the Rare Books and Manuscripts Curator to see this collection.

Call number: Distinctive Collections Nicholas A. Salerno Star Wars Collection, MSS-364, Box 25

Today's special guest

Giveaways!

Every evening: Book Art Giveaway

Want to see more?

Learn more about our collections, then tell us what you'd like to see in person below! 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.