Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Wars of the Twentieth Century - A History Guide

Concentrating on the global conflicts of the Twentieth Century with particular emphasis on World War II

Article Databases - Secondary Literature

Academic Search Premier Includes some full text
A great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics.

America: History and Life 
Indexes and Abstracts over 2,400 articles, bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time. 

 CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
(1991+) Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

Historical Abstracts  Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations published since 1954 on the history of the world except for North America covering the time period from 1450 to the present.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective, 1908 - 1981:  This retrospective database indexes legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews are also covered.
 

JSTOR Includes full text  Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

Military & Government Collection  Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals.

PAIS Index, 1915 - current  PAIS  is a combination of two databases: PAIS International and PAIS Archive.  The PAIS International database contains records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976 and contains over 1.23 million records covering monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.This database covers the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages.

Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890 - 1982   Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada. Covers all subjects & such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, & science. The retrospective database covers the years 1890-1982 and includes links to full text.

 Worldwide Political Science Abstracts  Supplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

 

Hours and Locations