Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Wars of the Twentieth Century - A History Guide

Concentrating on the global conflicts of the Twentieth Century with particular emphasis on World War II

20th Century Wars

Wars of the Twentieth Century

World War II:
Declassified Documents Reference System - US (1941-1992) (Access through ASU Library)
Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc.

EuroDocs: Includes links and full-text documents covering the European history. Extensive section about Germany. Provided by the Harold Lee Library, Brigham Young University.

German History in Documents and Images, Nazi Germany: Documents, images and maps. The German Historical Institute, Washington, DC. Search by time periods (top of the page).

Imperial War Museums - Collections  IWM’s collections cover all aspects of twentieth and twenty-first century conflict involving Britain, the Commonwealth and other former empire countries. They were intended to record the 'toil and sacrifice' of every individual affected by war.  They contain some of the most important technical, social, economic, political, personal and cultural artefacts relating to Britain and its role in twentieth-century conflict. 

International Military Tribunal for the Far East Digital Collection:  The International Military Tribunal for the Far East (IMTFE), informally known as the Tokyo War Crimes trial, lasted two and a half years, from April 29, 1946 to November 12, 1948.  In contrast, the far better known Nuremberg Trial lasted less than a year. Established to try Japanese officials involved with perpetrating World War II, the IMTFE set a greater precedence for international law than Nuremberg yet is relatively under-studied in comparison.

National Archives ( United Kingdom) - World War II - Index of Resources  allows  access toall of the maps, investigations and individual sources. Begin by selecting a Theatre of War from the links then select the link to that content.

World War II Resources "Primary source materials on the Web" 

Nazi Propaganda sites:  The following sites are from reputable repositories or institutions and have primary source materials relating to the propaganda efforts of the National Socialist party and government:  German Propaganda ArchiveThe German Propaganda Archive includes both propaganda itself and material produced by Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic; and Nazi Propaganda - U.S Holocaust Memorial Museum; and  EuroDocs: Germany: National Socialism and World War II:  This is an aggregator site which includes site links covering Nazi propaganda as well as the rise of National Socialism and World War II( not all the documents are in German)

The Nuremberg Trials Project  The Harvard Law School Library has approximately one million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT).  The documents include trial transcripts, briefs, document books, evidence files, and other papers. See Also: The International Military Tribunal for Germany( Avalon Project): 

Poster Collection, World War II ( Northwestern University): 300 World War II posters issued by various government agencies during the war years of 1940-1945. Also included are a few images of ration stamps and coupons, and facsimiles of proclamations and treaties

World War I:


World War I Document Archive: This archive of primary documents from World War I has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). The archive is international in focus and intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War. Also worth looking at is: World War I: Trenches on the Web.
 

Post World War II:

Cold War International History Project This site contains transcribed primary sources on the history of the Cold War. Many of the items are from original or compilations from previously inaccessible sources in the former Communist world.

Declassified Documents Reference System - US (1941-1992) (Access through ASU Library)
Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc.

Holocaust Rescue and Relief: Digitized Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee: Digitized records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee (UUSC), which aided displaced persons in Europe during and after World War II. The Andover-Harvard Theological Library.

The Korean War and its Origins, 1945 - 1953  Documents and other primary Sources from the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library

My Lai Courts Martial: A nice page from the Famous Trials site on the My Lai Courts Martial pu together by Professor Douglas Linder.  Provides selected primary and documentary resources on the trials 

Parallel History Project on NATO and the Warsaw Pact - provides documentation about the development of NATO and the Warsaw Pact during the Cold War. This site and the Cold War International History Project provide materials documenting the activities of the US' partners and adversaries during the long cold war struggle.

Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950: Primary source documents, including surveys, leaflets, reports of relief workers, US zone reports, War office memos, Exodus Camp records, Displaced Persons Assembly Centre weekly reports and correspondence of relief organizations.

The Vietnam Archive "The Vietnam Archive mission is to collect and preserve the documentary record of the Vietnam War.... The Vietnam Archive currently administers two projects, the Oral History Project and the Virtual Vietnam Archive. More information about both of these project can be  found in their respective sections of this website."

Primary Sources Available through ASU Library

American History in Video  American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. 

Declassified Documents Reference System - US
(1941-1992) Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc


Digital National Security Archive: Digital National Security Archive unlocks a vast trove of important declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations. The digitized documents are made available in over 40 topic-based collections coverings such topics and areas as the Soviet Union; Mexico, Cuba and Latin America; Iran, Iraq and the Middle East; Nuclear history and policy; Henry Kissinger and US diplomacy; and Japan, Korea and The Vietnam War. 

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919 - 1980  . Due to the long-unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history.

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. The collection is a comprehensive survey of the politics following the independence of India until the death of India's first prime-minister.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-63, On-Line (1957-63) Provides historians and political scientists with direct access to documents from the highest level of Government during the Macmillan Administration. Contains 30,000 original documents, as well as five essays on the Macmillan Administration.

Proquest Congressional
(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.


PeriodicalArchive Online
(1770-1995) PCI Web is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922;  Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer, 1791 - 2003;ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990

Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respective years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974  This database documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America through letters, diaries, memoirs, and oral histories; accounts from official, radical, and alternative organizations; posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare materials; and Universal newsreel footage.

Times Digital Archive, 1785-2009 The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of The Times; a resource for 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.

Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006  Provides access to the full run of a British weekly newspaper noted for its analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.

 


Hours and Locations