Please plan on attending this daylong symposium to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Child Drama Collection at ASU Library, along with the 35-year career of curator Kathy Krzys and the 45th anniversary of the Theater for Youth graduate program at ASU.
See the full program below, which provides in details all the things attendees will be able to plan on:
|8:30 a.m.—9:15 a.m.||Breakfast|
|9:15 a.m.—9:30 a.m.||
Stephani Etheridge Woodson, Director of MFA and PhD programs in the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Theatre for Youth Program
|9:30 a.m.—9:45 a.m.||
Founding of the Child Drama Collection
|9:45 a.m.—10:45 a.m.||
Highlights of the Collection
|10:45 a.m.—11 a.m.||
|11 a.m.—12 p.m.||
Child Drama Collection: Past, Present, and Future
|12 p.m.—1 p.m.||Lunch|
|1 p.m.—1:30 p.m.||
Research Presentation Installations
|1:30 p.m.—2:30 p.m.||
“Today the Archive Told Me . . .” A Child Drama Collection Project
Follow-up Talkback to “Today the Archive Told Me . . .”
|2:30 p.m.—3 p.m.||Break|
|3 p.m.—4 p.m.||
A Somewhat Irreverent Look at the History Behind the History
|4 p.m.—5 p.m.||
Building Kathy’s Personal Archive
"Today the Archive told Me" is a theatrical exploration of Theatre for Youth (TFY) inspired by the artifacts contained within the ASU Child Drama Collection. It is part oral history, part drama and part remembrance that combines tapes of interviews, photographs and videos with a script devised and performed by an ensemble of young artists. It celebrates the preservation of the history of TFY while also encouraging youth to respond to the past by creating new work from their own perspective.
Saturday October 26, 2019
9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Hayden Library Concourse
Arizona State University
Distinctive Collections at ASU Library is proud to co-sponsor this event with the Theatre for Youth Programs, School of Film, Dance, and Theatre in ASU’s Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.