MCO 502 Journalism Skills
Project Coordinator
LIBKEY Nomad
- LIBKEY NomadLibKey Nomad is a browser extension for Google Chrome, and other browsers, that provides full-text for articles available through ASU Library as you search the web.
Need more help?
Selected Databases for News/Newspaper Articles
- Nexis UniSearch comprehensive, authoritative news content, including current coverage and deep archives for a wide range of academic research.
- Access World NewsProvides full-text information and perspectives from several thousand U.S. and international newspapers and newswire sources. Also includes broadcast transcripts, business magazines and miscellaneous other source types.
- ProQuest News and NewspapersAllows for cross-searching of the Alt-PressWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch. indexes as well as: Arizona Pepublic, Barron's, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal Editions, and historical Atlanta Constitution, Guardian, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Observer, Washington Post, Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, and Pittsburg Courier
- Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveExtensive and complete archive of television news, recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. Also includes news coverage of significant events broadcast outside the scope of the regular evening news programs. This part of the collection focuses on the U.S. presidential politics, including political conventions, election coverage, and speeches and press conferences of the President currently in office.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Contains current and historic photographs drawn largely from the Associated Press database of images. The archive includes contemporary news images, historical figures, celebrities, and images drawn from key events of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Selected Subject Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to full-text business and economics journals, dissertations, working papers, and key periodicals like The Economist and The Wall Street Journal, along with detailed company and industry reports.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary periodical index which provides access to popular press magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals from nearly every academic discipline. Includes content from international publishers, a growing collection of open access journals, and a large historic collection of video recordings from the Associated Press.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
This database is a research and reference source in the fields of communication, journalism, and mass media. The database also covers some aspects of the field of advertising and related topics. The database indexes and abstracts journals and conference presentations.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
A fulltext database that covers topics such as teaching methods, literacy standards, adult and continuing education, classroom management, school administration and evaluation methods of both students and teachers. Content includes academic journals, trade publications, and magazines.
- Google Scholar (with Library Links) This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses and dissertations, conference papers, pre-prints, technical reports, and other publications for all research disciplines. The link enables ASU affiliates to include ASU Library’s full text and InterLibrary Loan Services in a search.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1789+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
ProQuest Congressional provides access to federal legislative bills, statutes, committee hearings, committee reports, and voting history while also covering executive branch documents and executive orders. The specific document series included are: Legislative Histories 1969-Present; Bills & Laws 1789-Present; Vote Report 1987-Present; Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1817-Present; Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789-1997; Congressional Record Daily Edition 1985-Present; CRS Reports 1916-Present; Hearings 1824-Present; House & Senate Documents 1817-Present; House & Senate Reports 1817-Present; Serial Set 1789-2017; Serial Set Maps 1789-Present. V. This Collection also includes: Executive Branch Documents 1789-1939 - the entire range of executive branch publications listed in the authoritative 1909 Checklist, the only systematic effort to provide a complete listing of all documents published by the U.S. Government in its first 120 years. Executive Branch Documents 1789-1932 includes all of the 200,000+ executive branch titles listed in the 1909 Checklist that were not included in the U.S. Serial Set, as well as an additional 200,000 titles from 1910-1932, and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789-Present - Executive Orders are the formal means through which the President of the United States executes a wide range of actions related to the Federal Government’s internal operations and organization, as well as foreign and domestic policies. ProQuest provides ‘Cross-search’ capability by highlighting related content in the News (historical and current newspapers) for ProQuest Congressional users. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Includes sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education, and other sport and fitness related topics. Includes citations as well as select full text content from a number of sources including journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, and more.
Online Subscription Passes for New York Tiimes/Wall Street Journal
- New York Times (Academic Group Pass) This link opens in a new windowNote: Arizona State University Library provides access to nytimes.com for all current students, staff, and faculty members through a Group Pass. Read instructions for how ASU users can CREATE or RENEW the New York Times Academic Group Pass.
Academic Group Pass features include NYT apps, restricted archives, TimesMachine, NYT Cooking, and others. To access TimesMachine for pdf scans of 1851-2002 articles, please go to Sections—More—Tools & Services—TimesMachine. Archives from 1923-1980 are limited to 5 articles per day per user. - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowCoverage: WSJ.com archives go back four years and are on a rolling basis.
National daily newspaper that provides access to news, information, commentary, and analysis with an emphasis on business and financial news. The Wall Street Journal includes coverage of U.S. and world news, education, politics, technology, real estate, sports, health, and the arts.
Note: ASU users (Students, faculty and staff) must initially register by logging into school portal, and creating an account on the registration page to access Wall Street Journal (WSJ) by following these steps. Once activated, you can access all content from a web browser, as well as via smartphone and tablet apps, from any location.
*If you already have a personal paid subscription, please call at 1-800JOURNAL or email support@wsj.com to cancel it and sign up for an account through the library.*
1. Go to the WSJ registration page: https://WSJ.com/ArizonaState
2. Enter first and last name
3. Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
4. Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
Please note: The password must be at least 5 characters long with a maximum of 15 characters, contain at least one number, and does NOT contain spaces, %, & or +
5. Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
6. Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/ or through the app.
RENEWALS: *STUDENT* member's accounts stay active until their graduation dates. *FACULTY AND STAFF* need to validate their memberships once a year from the ASU URL: https://WSJ.com/ArizonaState
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
