Login to LibApps


Child Drama Anniversary Fall Symposium: Home

Banner graphic reading "Embodying the past, empowering the future: a joyful celebration of the 40th anniversary of the Child Drama Collection at ASU Library".  Kathy Krzys is also depicted holding an old volume from the Child Drama Collection while teaching

Please plan on attending this daylong symposium to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Child Drama Collection at ASU Library, along with the 35-year career of curator Kathy Krzys and the 45th anniversary of the Theater for Youth graduate program at ASU. 

See the full program below, which provides in details all the things attendees will be able to plan on:

  • Attending panel discussions and presentations by leading scholars 
  • Meeting inspiring theater for youth (TFY) pioneers 
  • Connecting with colleagues
  • Learning how to incorporate new Child Drama resources into your curriculum
  • Viewing a devised play on the history of TFY performed by junior high students who relied on the Child Drama Collection for their source material
  • Experiencing significant artifacts from the Child Drama Collection
  • Asking Kathy those questions whose answers she told you she would tell you one day

Symposium Program

8:30 a.m.—9:15 a.m. Breakfast
9:15 a.m.—9:30 a.m.

Welcome
Jim O'Donnell, University Librarian

Stephani Etheridge Woodson, Director of MFA and PhD programs in the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Theatre for Youth Program

9:30 a.m.—9:45 a.m.

Founding of the Child Drama Collection
Lin Wright and Marilyn Wurzburger

9:45 a.m.—10:45 a.m.

Highlights of the Collection
Kathy Krzys

10:45 a.m.—11 a.m.

Break

11 a.m.—12 p.m.

Child Drama Collection: Past, Present, and Future
Mary Mcavoy, Lorenzo Garcia, Manon van de Water

12 p.m.—1 p.m. Lunch
1 p.m.—1:30 p.m.

Research Presentation Installations

1:30 p.m.—2:30 p.m.

“Today the Archive Told Me . . .” A Child Drama Collection Project

 

Follow-up Talkback to “Today the Archive Told Me . . .”
Kristin Hunt

2:30 p.m.—3 p.m. Break
3 p.m.—4 p.m.

A Somewhat Irreverent Look at the History Behind the History
Roger Bedard, Suzan Zeder, Laurie Brooks, Don Doyle, Kathy Krzys (Moderator)

4 p.m.—5 p.m.

Building Kathy’s Personal Archive
Kathy has spent her career nurturing the archives of others while mentoring students, organizing field specific knowledge, and building histories for how we move in the world.  Today we wish to honor her and help build her OWN archive that represents the deep relationships we all have built with her over time. Please bring a small gift to place into her archive that best captures how you feel. Please label the item and include a small card with anything you want to share. We will share these together.

 

"Today the Archive Told Me . . . " A Child Drama Collection Project

"Today the Archive told Me" is a theatrical exploration of Theatre for Youth (TFY) inspired by the artifacts contained within the ASU Child Drama Collection. It is part oral history, part drama and part remembrance that combines tapes of interviews, photographs and videos with a script devised and performed by an ensemble of young artists. It celebrates the preservation of the history of TFY while also encouraging youth to respond to the past by creating new work from their own perspective. 

Register Today!

Register online today and reserve your spot for this once-in-a-lifetime experience.

When / Where

Saturday October 26, 2019
9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Hayden Library Concourse
Arizona State University
Tempe, Arizona

Roast and Dance Party

The Krzys Roast and Dance Party is a separate event from the rest of the Symposium. 
For more information and to reserve your seat, please click here.

Sponsors

Distinctive Collections at ASU Library is proud to co-sponsor this event with the Theatre for Youth Programs, School of Film, Dance, and Theatre in ASU’s Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts

Questions?

Contact us via Ask an Archivist

Hours and Locations