CHM 394: Chemistry, Energy and Society
Need more help?
Library One Search
Find most ASU Library's books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!
Critically Evaluating Resources
Accuracy
Authority
Objectivity
Currency
Coverage
Sample Articles
- Vaccines and Autism: A Tale of Shifting Hypotheses.Vaccines and Autism: A Tale of Shifting Hypotheses.
Authors:
Gerber, Jeffrey S.1
Offit, Paul A.1 offit@email.chop.edu
Source:
Clinical Infectious Diseases; 2/15/2009, Vol. 48 Issue 4, p456-461, 6p
Overview
In this semester of Chemistry, Energy and Society you will be taking an in-depth look at different case studies. You will be expected to do background research which will, in turn, fuel your discussion. At the end of this library session, you will:
- know where to find information for your background research
- both as a member of the general public and as a academic researcher
- Critically evaluate resources.
Freely available Health Information
- PubMedSearch the biomedical literature. Freely available resource, full text available via ASU Library.
- MedlinePlusFreely available resource for consumer health information.
- NCBI - EntrezNational Center for Biotechnology Information's (NCBI) Entrez database searches all of the databases (including PubMed, PubMed Central and NCBI Bookshelf). NCBI is a division of National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Searching for Articles
Use these resources to find journal articles on your topic:
- Academic Search UltimateMultidisciplinary database with full-text.
- PubMedSearch the biomedical literature.
- Google ScholarGoogle's search engine for Scholarly Resources. This link will also connect you to the ASU Library subscriptions.
- Web of ScienceResource contains peer-reviewed articles from the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
- America: History and Life with Full TextResource contains full-text articles on the history and culture of the USA and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.
- ABI/InformResource contains articles focused on business, management and related areas.
- Annual ReviewsFull-text systematic reviews of topics ranging from Biochemistry to Sociology.
- Opposing ViewpointsA lower level database, which collects information (viewpoint essays, articles from magazines, newspapers and scholarly journals) on controversial topics.
Other Sources for Information
These resources are licensed by the ASU Library. Start with these resources to pull background information about your case study:
- knovelThis resource is an electronic library of Science and Engineering Handbooks. Click on "My Subscription" in the upper right hand corner. The Merck Index and a number of science specific encyclopedias and dictionaries can be found by searching this resource.
- Lexis Nexis CongressionalCongressional committee prints are publications issued by congressional committees on topics related to their legislative or research activities.
- Encyclopedia of Life SciencesLooking for background information? Here's a great place to start. Don't forget to take a look at the reference section for more information.
Session Feedback
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
