Login to LibApps


Citation Research and Impact Metrics: Usage Counts

Index

Introduction to:
Article Assessments
Author Assessments
Country Assessments
Journal Rankings

Metrics:
Altmetric Score

Citation Benchmarking
Citation Counts for: 
---Articles
---Authors
---Countries
Citation Distribution, see Citation Benchmarking
CiteScore 
Collaboration

Eigenfactor Score, see Other Journal Rankings
ERIH Plus, see Other Journal Rankings

Field-weighted citation impact (FWCI), see Citation Benchmarking
FWCI, see Citation Benchmarking

Google Scholar (Journal) Metrics, see Other Journal Rankings

Harzing, see Other Journal Rankings
Hirsch-index
h-index

iCite for:
---Articles, see Citation Benchmarking
---Authors

JIF
Journal Impact Factor

NIH ranking, see iCite

Publish or Perish software, see Citation Counts for Authors: Other Sources

RCR, see iCite
Relative Citation Ratio, see iCite

Scimago Country Rank (SCR)
Scimago Journal Rank, see CiteScore 
SJR, see CiteScore
SNIP, see CiteScore​
​Source Normalized Impact per Paper, see CiteScore

Usage Counts

What You Need to Know

Usage counts show interest in the article even though the reader may never end up citing the article.  On the other hand, the usage count only reflects the usage the article has received via that specific database or website; consequently,  the usage count may not reflect the full level of interest.

Important Points: 

  • Articles may not have a usage count as these counts appear only in some databases and at some publishers. Consequently, the absence of a usage count does not mean the article has never been used. 
     
  • No consistency. Each database and website counts usage differently.  Sometimes the count is how often a link was clicked to landing page (usually just the abstract) but not necessarily to the full text.  In other cases, views of the full text may be counted but not downloads.  
     
  • Theoretically, articles available for a longer time have an advantage over more currently published articles, however, usage counts are a relatively new metric so the count may only reflect usage from a few recent years even for older articles. 
     
  • Do not add usage counts from different sources as you may end up counting a single transaction more than once. 
     
  • Usage counts do not determine the quality of an article as there are both positive as well as negative reasons to view the article. 

 

Uses:

  • Usage counts help to determine if there is interest in the article, but
  • Only compare usage counts for different articles if the counts come from the same database/website and the articles are from the same time span.  

Instructions

We recommend the following strategy for finding usage counts: 

  1. First try the Web of Science, a multidisciplinary database for journal articles that started counting usage in February 2013.  
  2. Next try specialized indexing/abstracting databases for that subject; look for usage counts on the:
    • Item record in a results list, or
    • Item's full record within the database  
  3. Finally, if neither of those avenues work, go to the publisher's web site; usage counts are most likely to appear on the "landing page" for article (i.e., where you find the articles's abstract and link to the full text.)  

 

Regardless of where you find the count, always check to see how the count was determined (usually found in a help file.) 

Need More Help? (askalib)

Hours and Locations