Skip to main content

Library Updates & Support During COVID-19 Response

ASU Library support resources during online-only instruction at ASU.

ASU Library is now open for remote services only in response to COVID-19.  We encourage you to check back regularly; updates will be made as changes are implemented.

Last update: May 26, 2020

A message from University Librarian, Jim O'Donnell

The Arizona State University Library will continue to support students in every possible way during this period of online-only instruction at ASU. In addition to expanding some of our digital services, such as Ask A Librarian, our online chat service, the library is prepared to fully harness the power of its remote learning tools. I encourage you to explore the vast digital landscape of the ASU Library and become a power user of this powerful system. If you get lost or need further support, help from a library professional is just a click, text, email or call away. Should you have any concerns, please reach out to me directly at jod@asu.edu.

Jim O'Donnell, University Librarian

ASU Library open for remote services only

The  library is providing remote services only.  

Need help or have questions? ASU librarians are standing by. The Ask a Librarian online chat service summer hours starti May 18: Monday-Thursday 8 am to 9 pm and Friday 8 am to 5pmAsk an Archivist will provide online assistance for inquiries relating to our rare, distinctive and/or archival collections: Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm.

Note:  Current ASU students without a computer and/or internet connection are eligible to check out a laptop and/or wifi hotspot.  See Laptops and Hotspot Check Out for more information.  If you are faculty or staff and need technology to work remotely, please contact your department, unit or college to request technology support.

Borrowing and Requesting ASU Library Materials

Many items from the ASU Library collections are available to be requested and picked up in person at Hayden Library on the Tempe campus, including items from Music Library and Design and the Arts Library.
 

  • Requesting books:  Books that are eligible to be checked out will have a link to "Request ASU Copy".  You will have an delivery option of Hayden Library or home delivery.  Note:  Home delivery is available only for those residing outside of the Phoenix Metropolitan area.  
     
  • Picking up books:  You will receive an email when your requested items are available for pickup at Hayden Library on the Tempe campus.  Please pick up your items at the south entrance of Hayden Library across from the Memorial Union), Monday-Friday, from 9 - 11am .  Home delivery is available for those residing outside of the Phoenix metropolitan area.
     
  • Returning books:  All due dates for library items have been extended and any accrued fines will be waived during this period.  If you need to return books now for any reason, please use choose one of the following options, 

Please note that there may be a delay in returned items being shown as returned on your account.  But please do not worry - any overdue fines that happen to accrue will be waived.

  • Drop off using one of the exterior book returns at Hayden Library or Noble Library (Tempe campus), Downtown Phoenix campus Library (on the south side of UCENT on Polk Street), Fletcher Library (West campus) or the Polytechnic campus Library.
  • Ship back to the library.  We recommend using FedEx Ground service, which provides $100 default insurance.  Please keep the tracking information in case there are questions about the returns.  Shipping address:

Noble Library
601 E. Tyler Mall
Tempe, AZ 85287-1006 

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

  • At this time, the ASU Library is suspending interlibrary loans of physical materials. However, Interlibrary Loan will continue to fill requests that can be can be fulfilled with digital resources.  

  • Due Dates Extended:  All ILL items currently checked out with due dates falling between March 13th and August 30th have been updated to now be due August 31, 2020.
  • Returning Interlibrary Loan materials:  If you would like to return your Interlibrary Loan materials, you may at this time be able to return these items to the exterior book returns at Hayden Library or Noble Library (Tempe campus), Downtown Phoenix campus Library (on the south side of UCENT on Polk Street), Fletcher Library (West campus) or the Polytechnic campus Library.  This is outside of the libraries' normal processes that require items lent through the Interlibrary Loan process due to the limited access caused by Covid-19 protocols.

    If you do return your item(s) to the exterior book returns, please make sure the book strap which contains the information needed to credit the return is in place.  If the item is fragile or could be damaged by other materials dropping on it, please wrap the material in bubble wrap or place in a large envelope to protect it.

  • If you have any questions about your Interlibrary Loan materials, please email  ASU-ILL@asu.edu and one of our staff will be in touch with you.

 

Research Assistance and Library Instruction

Research Assistance

  • ASU librarians are available to help with your research needs through our Ask a Librarian service. Connect with Ask a Librarian to find the right library expert for your class or assignment. Hours for this online service have been extended during this time.
  • ASU expert curators and archivists are available via Ask an Archivist to provide assistance with rare, distinctive and/or archival collections.  
  • Research, course specific, topic and how to library guides are developed by ASU Librarians to provide suggested resources for doing library research and assignments. 

Library Instruction 

  • ASU librarians are available to provide library instruction in a digital environment via Zoom. Send a request for instruction from our Library Instruction page. 
  • Library tutorials are available to help with general research skills, finding articles, citing sources and avoiding plagiarism, and searching specific library databases. ASU Library has a over 25 tutorials to assist learners throughout the research process. 
  • ASU Library’s digital credentialing program serves to bolster and demonstrate proficiency in essential academic library skills. The credentials are designed to help students to master the skills needed to avoid plagiarism, locate resources, develop a research question, and more. 

Library resources accessible anywhere

Library and Google Scholar Search Engines

Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

Library One Search - Try It!

E-Books

  • ASU Library has numerous e-book Collections on a variety of topics. 
  • One of the largest collections at ASU Library is E-Book Central from ProQuest who has extended ASU unlimited access to their collection during this challenging time. Search below!
Ebook Central

Streaming Media

Open Access Articles

Free E-Resources : COVID-19

Online Textbooks

Online Textbooks

  • Kyle Bowen, Executive Director of Learning Experience, announced, "thanks to the work of ASU, ASU Bookstores, Follett, and RedShelf, students can access textbooks at no cost for the spring semester from the most common publishers."Instructions available here:  RedShelf Access  
  • Cambridge University Press is making their textbooks available for the spring semester at Cambridge Core.

COVID-19 Information

COVID-19 Library Guide (ASU Library)

Hours and Locations