Login to LibApps


ENG 101: Countries and Cultures: Library Resources /Databases

Finding library and web resources to research a topic in another country

Need Help?

Get immediate help from a librarian via chat or email.


 Your Downtown Phoenix campus librarian 

Alexandra Humphreys

 Alexandra.Humphreys@asu.edu
602-496-1188

Background Information

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains dozens of online encyclopedias and other reference works. Good for the humanities.

Sage eReference
An online collection of over 40 reference titles from Sage Publications. It is especially good for the social sciences and sciences.

Credo Reference Online  
Provides full-text online access to many reference books in all major subjects. Also includes dictionaries for major European languages and biographical reference resources. 
 
Encyclopaedia Britannica
Contains the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, world atlas, timelines, "This Day in History" feature, and world data analyst. 
 

All Research Databases

There are hundreds of additional library research databases

  • Use the alphabetical list if you know the name of the database
  • Or use the search by subject menu.

Article Databases

The library databases below are the best for your assignment:


Academic Search Premier is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has loads of full text. Depending on the topic, many ENG102 students will get all they need from Academic Search Premier.

Academic Search Premier - Introduction: Interactive Tutorial and Quiz

Academic Search Premier - Bonus Features: Interactive Tutorial


AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of American Anthropological Association, AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge.  


The most helpful feature of Opposing Viewpoints is that it provides clearly identified pro and con sources for each topic. You can either browse the most popular topics from the first screen, or you can search by keyword.  This is a great place to start, but you need to look at other tools also.  All of the essays are available full text.

It also provides other useful information about each issue, such as relevant articles from encylopedias, magazines and scholarly journals. Use the tabs at the top of your search results to find these.


CQ Researcher is an excellent source for comprehensive background information on current issues in the news. It is the most reliable place to find balanced, unbiased overviews. These reports are meant to educate rather than influence researchers.  But don't let it be your only source!

This link takes you to the CQ Library; from there select CQ Researcher.


LexisNexis offers newspaper articles from around the country and the world.

To limit your search to a specific U.S. state or country, follow the steps below:

1)   From the main Nexis Uni page, click on All News in the Search the News left column.      
       (The link to All News is at the bottom of the column.) 

2)  Insert keywords into the search fields. 

3)  Under Select Souce select Newspapers

4)  Select Country or US State under Article Location


Access World News offers newspaper coverage from around the US and around the world (and easier to use than LexisNexis). 


Get articles from our local newspaper the Arizona Republic from to 1999 to present.  Local information can often be harder to find than national, so ask a Librarian for help if you want it and are not finding it.


 

Alt-Press Watch is a full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. It provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.


Ethnic NewsWatch brings full text coverage of ethnic and minority presses from around the United States.  Provides viewpoints and resources you may not find anywere else!

Hours and Locations