Login to LibApps

ENG 101: Countries and Cultures: Web Resources

Finding library and web resources to research a topic in another country

Free (Open Access) Resources

D O A J : Directory of Open Access Journals 
Covers free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in many languages.

Europeana
Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.

The European library
Provides online access to the collections of national and university libraries from 46 European countries.

Eurodocs
Online sources for European history.

 

Need Help?

Get immediate help from a librarian via chat or email.


 Your Downtown Phoenix campus librarian 

Alexandra Humphreys

 Alexandra.Humphreys@asu.edu
602-496-1188

Country Profiles and Data

BBC News: Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

CIA-The World Factbook
Lists population, government, military, and economic information for nations recognized by the United States.

UNdata
Statistical information from member states on a variety of topics.

U.S. Department of State: List of Countries
Contains A-Z list of country and other areas.

U.S. Department of State: Background Notes
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.

Hours and Locations