Login to LibApps

Government Documents - Judicial Branch - Federal Courts: Federal Judiciary

About the Federal Judiciary

Article III, section 1, of the Constitution of the United States provides that "[t]he judicial Power of the United States, shall be vested in one supreme Court, and in such inferior Courts as the Congress may from time to time ordain and establish."

The Supreme Court of the United States was created in accordance with this provision and by authority of the Judiciary Act of September 24, 1789 (1 Stat. 73). It was organized on February 2, 1790. Article III, section 2, of the Constitution defines the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court.

The Federal Judiciary also includes lower Courts, created by Congress, including: Courts of Appeal, District Courts, and Courts of Special Jurisdiction.

U.S. Courts RSS Feed


Judicial Resources

Ross-Blakley Law Library

The primary responsibility of the Ross-Blakley Law Library is to support the teaching and research functions of the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law. The Library also supports Arizona State University faculty and students as well as community users who need to access legal materials that only the Law Library owns.  Please be aware of the Library's Limited Access Policy. 

The Ross-Blakley Law Library website provides access to online legal resources as well as guidance on conducting legal research and using specific resources including Federal Case Law, and hundreds of databases, some of which are restricted to affiates of the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law.


Ask a Librarian

Hours and Locations