Login to LibApps

EXW 100: Introduction to Library Research: Article Databases

A step-by-step guide to finding resources for EXW 100.

One Search

Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes items Google considers scholarly, including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports. The ASU Library subscribes to the electronic version of many of these materials and may own the print copy. 

Databases

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.

ProQuest
A multidisciplinary index which provides access to a collection of databases for the arts, business, dissertations & theses, health & medicine, history, literature & language, news & newspapers, science & technology, and social sciences.

PubMed
An Abstract/Citation Database, PubMed indexes citations for articles from MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE as well as out-of-scope citations from additional general science and chemistry journals whose life sciences articles are indexed in MEDLINE.

SPORTDiscus
Covers all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Includes sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport- and fitness-related topics.

PsycINFO
Primary research index for publications related to psychology.


CINAHL
Indexes nursing/allied health journals & most publications of the American Nurses' Assocociation & National League for Nursing. 


JSTOR
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Science.

Is this article peer-reviewed?

Use Ulrichs Periodical Directory (Ulrichsweb) to find out 

  • if an article is from a peer-reviewed (refereed) journal
  • if this article (journal) is popular or scholarly
  • general information about magazine or journal

This is the symbol that tells you a journal is peer reviewed in Ulrichsweb

Contact Information

ASU Library
Alexandra Humphreys
Alexandra.Humphreys@asu.edu
tel. (602) 496-1188


Writing Centers
Writing Centers 
on all campuses 
(in-person and online writing tutoring)

 Downtown Phoenix Campus
University Center (UCENT), 1st floor
tel. (602) 496-4278

Hours and Locations