Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Jewish Studies

A Subject Guide to research in all fields related to Jewish Studies, on campus and beyond

Archival Materials

Arizona Jewish Historical Society: Photos and videos recording Jewish life in Arizona are available on the Arizona Memory Project site. Collections include:

  • Jewish Life in Arizona: A digital collection of selected images from the Arizona Jewish Historical Society.
  • Phoenix Jewish News Photographs Collection: The archive of Phoenix Jewish News, a local Jewish newspaper (founded 1948), was donated to the Arizona Jewish Society in 2007. This digital exhibit features about 250 photos of the 10,000 photo collection.
  • Video Histories of Arizona Jewish Residents: Short video interviews of notable Jewish residents in the Greater Phoenix area. Subjects include Anti-semitism, family life, business, religion, and the vitality of the Phoenix Jewish community

A Very Special Colloquium on Jewish Pioneers

Date: June 16 - 22, 1991; Publisher: The University of Arizona Extended University
Collection: FE Foundation Ephemera. Call Number: FE EPH RSJ-7
Locations: Hayden Arizona Historical Foundation. Index: AHFI. [ID: 7445]


A Preliminary Report on Pioneer Jewish Cemeteries and Communities of the California Mother Lode

Author: Levinson, Robert E.
Subjects: Pioneers -- Jews & Judaism -- Cemeteries
Publication Date: 1964
Publisher: Commission for the Preservation of Pioneer Jewish Cemeteries and Landmarks
Collection: CE Ephemera. Call Number: CE EPH RSJ-3
Locations: Hayden Arizona Collection. Index: AZSI. [ID: 58273]


Elizabth Ramenofsky Collection, 1865-1992: Includes research notes and photographs of Arizona pioneer families of Solomon, Lantin, Lesinsky and Freudenthal. Also contains information on Solomonville, Arizona, Gila Valley Bank, Arizona and southwestern history, and the Jewish migration experience to Arizona and the southwest.

Web Resources

Jewish Museum of the American West: "Dedicated to the discovery, collection and dissemination of items and information pertaining to the Pioneer Jews of the American West, and how and why they were so successful." The non-profit publishes the journal Western states Jewish History.

    Hours and Locations