Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Language Emergency: HUL 494: Course Materials

Course Materials

ACTFL (American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages). "ACTFL Proficiency Scale." 2012. Langauge Testing International.
Open Access


Anderson, Patricia M. Revitalization Lexicography: The Making of the New Tunica Dictionary. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 2020. x, 156 p.
PM2498 .A53 2020 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks


Appiah, Kwame Anthony. Language Rights. PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America, 121.5 (2006): 1618-1620.
Cambridge Core


Archambault, Jodi. How Covid-19 Threatens Native Languages. The New York Times. Jan. 24, 2021.
Open Access
ProQuest


Arizona State University's Research Integrity and Assurance and the ASU Institutional Review Board (IRB). "Human Subjects." Arizona State University.
Open Access


Associated Press. Native American Tribes Try to Protect Elders, Their Knowledge from Loss to Coronavirus. Voice of America. Dec. 27, 2020.
Open Access


Atkeson, Lonna Rae and R. Michael Alvarez. Introduction, pp. ?. In The Oxford Handbook of Polling and Survey Methods. New York: Oxford University Press, 2018. xiii, 650 p. Oxford Handbooks.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science


Austin, Peter and Julia Sallabank, eds. The Cambridge Handbook of Endangered Languages. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2011. xii, 567 p. Cambridge Handbooks in Language and Linguistics.
Ebook Central [Unlimited Access]


Bartlett, Kenneth. The Experience of History: An Introduction to History. Chichester, West Sussex, UK: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2016. 167 p.
Ebook Central [Unlimited Access]


Boroditsky, Lera. How Language Shapes the Way We Think. New York: TED, 2017. 14 min. 12 sec. TED Talks.
Open Access


Borrows, Lindsay Keegitah. Otter’s Journey through Indigenous Language and Law. Vancouver, B.C., Canada: UBC Press, 2018. xix, 214 p.
PM231 .B67 2018 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks


Bowern, Claire. Linguistic Fieldwork: A Practical Guide, 2nd ed. Basingstoke, UK: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015. x, 285 p.
Ebook Central [3 copies]


California Language Archive.
Open Access
"THE SURVEY OF CALIFORNIA AND OTHER INDIAN LANGUAGES is an archive and research center in the Department of Linguistics, University of California, Berkeley, supporting the documentation, analysis, preservation, and revitalization of the indigenous languages of the Americas."


Combs, Mary Carol and Sheilah E. Nicholas. The Effect of Arizona Language Policies on Arizona Indigenous Students. Language Policy, 11.1 (2012): 101-118.
Open Access
SpringerLink


Coronel-Molina, Serafin M. and Teresa L. McCarty, eds. Indigenous Language Revitalization in the Americas. New York: Routledge, 2016. xi, 330.
Ebook Central [3 copies]
P40.5 .L3572 I53 2016 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


Dahl, Stephan. Intercultural Research: The Current State of Knowledge. Middlesex University Discussion Paper, No. 26.
Open Access


Dunbar-Ortiz, Roxanne. An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States. Boston: Beacon Press, 2014. xiv, 296 p. ReVisioning American History
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) [3 copies]
E76.8 .D86 2014 Hayden Library Labriola Center Open Stacks, Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room Collections, West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks, West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


Elders of the O'Odham Ñiokĭ Hemapik Staff of the Salt River O'Odham Piipaash Language Program. A Pima Word Book: O’Odham Ñiokĭ O’ohana. Scottsdale, AZ: Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community, Cultural Resources Department, O'Odham Piipaash Language Program, 2014. 31 p.
Open Access


Ezell, Paul H. History of the Pima, pp. 149-160. In Handbook of North American Indians. Volume 10: Southwest, edited by Alfonso Ortiz. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, 1983. xvi, 868 p.
E 77 .H25 v. 10 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks, Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room Collections, High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection, Ross-Blakley Law Library Indian Law & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center, West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks
SI 1.20/10 West campus (Fletcher) US Documents
Canvas (restricted access)


Felix-Ibarra, Ana Patricia, ed. "Kumeyaay Placenames." Aug. 9, 2021. ArcGIS StoryMaps.
Open Access


Filmore, Lily Wong. When Learning a Second Language Means Losing the First. Early Childhood Research Quarterly.
Open Access
Science Direct


Finding Aid to the Margaret Landgdon Papers, 1957-2001
Open Access
"The Margaret Langdon papers contain correspondence; proposals and projects, primarily the Comparative Dictionary of Yuman Languages consisting of correspondence, contracts, evaluations, data entries, and drafts."


Fontana, Bernard L. Pima and Papago: Introduction, pp. 125-136. In Handbook of North American Indians. Volume 10: Southwest, edited by Alfonso Ortiz. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, 1983. xvi, 868 p.
E 77 .H25 v. 10 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks, Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room Collections, High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection, Ross-Blakley Law Library Indian Law & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center, West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks
SI 1.20/10 West campus (Fletcher) US Documents
Canvas (restricted access)


Gippert, Jost, Nikolaus Himmelmann and Ulrike Mosel, eds. Essentials of Language Documentation. Berlin, Germany; New York: Mouton de Gruyter, 2006. x, 424 p. Trends in Linguistics. Studies and Monographs, 178
Ebook Central [Unlimited Access]
P128 .D63 E85 2006 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks


Gregory, Alice. How Did a Self-Taught Linguist Come to Own an Indigenous Language? The New Yorker, 97.9 (Apr. 12, 2021).
Gale Literature Resource Center
Open Access


Grenoble, Lenore A. and N. Louanna Furbee, eds. Language Documentation Practice and Values. Amsterdam, Netherlands; Philadelphia: John Benjamins, 2010. xviii, 340 p.
Ebook Central [Unlimited Access]


Greymorning, Neyooxet, ed. Being Indigenous: Perspectives on Activism, Culture, Language and Identity. Abingdon, Oxon, UK; New York: Routledge, 2019. xvii, 245 p.
GN380 .B44 2019 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks


Harwell, Henry O. and Marsha C.S. Kelly. Maricopa, pp. 71-85. In Handbook of North American Indians. Volume 10: Southwest, edited by Alfonso Ortiz. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, 1983. xvi, 868 p.
E 77 .H25 v. 10 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks, Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room Collections, High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection, Ross-Blakley Law Library Indian Law & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center, West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks
SI 1.20/10 West campus (Fletcher) US Documents
Canvas (restricted access)


Healy, Jack. Tribal Elders Are Dying from the Pandemic, Causing a Cultural Crisis for American Indians. The New York Times. Jan. 12, 2021.
Open Access
ProQuest


Hinton, Leanne. Bringing Our Languages Home: Language Revitalization for Families. Berkeley, CA: Heyday, 2013. xx, 264 p.
P40.5 .L356 B75 2013 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


Hinton, Leanne. Flutes of Fire: Essays on California Indian Languages. Berkeley, CA: Heyday Books, 1994. 270 p.
PM501 .C2 H56x 1994 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


Hinton, Leanne and Ken Hale, eds. The Green Book of Language Revitalization in Practice. Leiden, Netherlands; Boston: Brill, 2013 ©2001. xvi, 450 p.
P 40.5 .L356 G74 2013 Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room Collections


Hinton, Leanne with Matt Vera, Nancy Steele and the Advocates for Indigenous California Language Survival. How to Keep Your Language Alive: A Commonsense Approach to One-on-One Language Learning. Berkeley, CA: Heyday Books, 2002. xvii, 123 p.
PB35 .H56 2002 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


Hofstede, Geert. "The 6-D Model of National Culture." Geert Hofstede and Gert Jan Hofstede on Culture.
Open Access


Kramsch, Claire. The Embodied Self, pp. 53-77. In The Multilingual Subject: What Foreign Language Learners Say About Their Experience and Why It Matters. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. xii, 231 p. Oxford Applied Linguistics.
P115.4 .K73 2009 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks
Canvas (restricted access)


Kramsch, Claire. Introduction, pp. 1-25. In The Multilingual Subject: What Foreign Language Learners Say About Their Experience and Why It Matters. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. xii, 231 p. Oxford Applied Linguistics.
P115.4 .K73 2009 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks
Canvas (restricted access)


Leonard, Wesley Y. Producing Language Reclamation by Decolonising 'Language'. Language Documentation and Description, 14 (2017): 15-36.
Open Access


Link, Adrianna, Abigail Shelton and Patrick Spero, eds. Indigenous Languages and the Promise of Archives. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press; Philadelphia, PA: American Philosophical Society, 2021. xviii, 517 p.
PM206 .T73 2021 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks & Ross-Blakley Law Library Indian Law


Mathiot, Madeleine. Papago Semantics, pp. 201-211. In Handbook of North American Indians. Volume 10: Southwest, edited by Alfonso Ortiz. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, 1983. xvi, 868 p.
E 77 .H25 v. 10 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks, Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room Collections, High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection, Ross-Blakley Law Library Indian Law & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center, West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks
SI 1.20/10 West campus (Fletcher) US Documents
Canvas (restricted access)


Mathiot, Madeleine. Tohono 'O'odham-English Dictionary. Volume I. 455 p.
Open Access


Mathiot, Madeleine. Tohono 'O'odham-English Dictionary. Volume II. 558 p.
Open Access


McCann, Adam. "Most & Least Diverse States in America." Sep. 21, 2021. WalletHub.
Open Access


McCarty, Teresa L., Sheilah E. Nicholas and Gillian Wigglesworth, eds. A World of Indigenous Languages: Policies, Pedagogies and Prospects for Language Reclamation. Bristol; Blue Ridge Summit, PA: Multilingual Matters, 2019. xviii, 240 p. Linguistic Diversity and Language Rights, 17
P 40.5 .L357 W67 2019 [ON ILL process until 03/18/2022]


McCoy, Terrence and Heloisa Traiano. 'There are no words': As Coronavirus Kills Indigenous Elders, Endangered Languages Faces Extinction. The Washington Post. Oct. 6, 2020.
Open Access
ProQuest


Mithun, Marianne. The Languages of Native North America. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999. xxi, 773 p. Cambridge Language Surveys
PM 108 .L35 1999 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks


Natives4Linguistics Special Interest Group. "Statement from Indigenous Linguists and Language Scholars on Boarding and Residential Schools." Released Jun. 26, 2021 and revised June 28, 2021. Linguistic Society of America.
Open Access


Pablo, Sally Giff. Contemporary Pima, pp. 212-216. In Handbook of North American Indians. Volume 10: Southwest, edited by Alfonso Ortiz. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, 1983. xvi, 868 p.
E 77 .H25 v. 10 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks, Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room Collections, High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection, Ross-Blakley Law Library Indian Law & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center, West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks
SI 1.20/10 West campus (Fletcher) US Documents
Canvas (restricted access)


Pember, Mary Annette. Death by Civilization. The Atlantic. Mar. 8, 2019.
Open Access


Rea, Amadeo M. At the Desert’s Green Edge: An Ethnobotany of the Gila River Pima. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1997. xxviii, 430 p.
E99 .P6 R43 1997 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks, Hayden Library Concourse Classroom Collections (Dust) & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center
SPEC C-523 High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts


Rea, Amadeo M. Folk Mammalogy of the Northern Pimas. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1998. xxiii, 286 p.
E99 .P62 R43 1998 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks, West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center & West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


Rea, Amadeo M. Wings in the Desert: A Folk Ornithology of the Northern Pimans. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 2007. xxi, 293 p.
E99 .P62 R45 2007 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center & West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


Rubalcava, Rene. ArcGIS Web Development . Shelter Island, NY: Manning Publications, 2014. 248 p.
O'Reilly for Higher Education


Russell, Frank. The Pima Indians. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1908. 389 p.
Open Access
E 99 .P6 R8 High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection
AI s.1:1904/1905 West campus (Fletcher) Library US Documents


Russell, Frank. The Pima Indians. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1975. xv, 479 p.
E 99 .P6 R8 1975 Southwest Hayden Library Yucca Featured Collections


Russell, Frank. The Pima Indians. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1980 ©1975. Xv, 479 p.
E 99 .P6 R8 1980 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks


Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community. "History & Culture."
Open Access


Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community - O'Odham piipaash Language Program. Piipayk M'iim: A Maricopa Vocabulary and Phrase Book. viii, 35 p.
Open Access


Sheridan, Thomas E. and Nancy J. Parezo. Paths of Life: American Indians of the Southwest and Northern Mexico. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1996. xxxiii, 298, [24] plates.
E78 .S7 P38 1996 Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room Collections & High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection


Silver, Shirley and Wick R. Miller. American Indian Languages: Cultural and Social Contexts. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1997. xix, 433 p.
PM209 .S55 1997 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks, West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center & West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology.. Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1895-1964.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
E51 .U55 High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection [no.16(1894/1895)-29(1907/1908), 33(1911/1912)-34(1912/1913), 36(1914/1915)-37(1915/1916), 40(1918/1919)-48(1930/1931)]
SI 2.1 High Density Storage Collection Stacks [17(1895/1896), 22(1900/1901)-23(1901/1902), 28(1906/1907)]
SI 2.1 West campus (Fletcher) Library US Documents [(1894/95 pp.129-144), (1895/96)-(1911/12)]
See "Russell, Frank" entries above.


Spier, Leslie. Comparative Vocabularies and Parallel Texts in Two Yuman Languages of Arizona. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1946. 150 p. University of New Mexico Publications in Anthropology, no. 2
GN2 .N4 no. 2 1946 Hayden Library Luhrs Arizona Reading Room Collections, High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center [2 copies]


Spier, Leslie. Yuman Tribes of the Gila River. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1933. xviii, 433 p. University of Chicago Publications in Anthropology. Ethnological Series.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
E99 .Y95 S7 High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection


Spier, Leslie. Yuman Tribes of the Gila River. New York: Cooper Square Publishers, 1970. xviii, 433 p.
E99 .Y95 S7 1970 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks, High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection, High Density Storage Collection Stacks & West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


Spier, Leslie. Yuman Tribes of the Gila River. New York: Dover Publications, 1978. xviii, 433 p.
E 99 .Y95 S7 1978 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


Statement from Indigenous Linguists and Language Scholars on Boarding and Residential Schools. Indian Country Today.
Open Access


Sunn, Nick and Henry O. Harwell. An Account of Maricopa Origins, pp. 26-30. In Yuman Texts, edited by Margaret Landon. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1976. ii, 152 p. International Journal of American Linguistics. Native American Texts Series, 1.3.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]


Sunn, Nick and Henry O. Harwell. An Account of Maricopa Origins, pp. 26-30. In Yuman Texts, edited by Margaret Landon. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1976. ii, 152 p. International Journal of American Linguistics. Native American Texts Series, 1.3.
PM2701 .Z77 1976 High Density Storage Collection Arizona Collection & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


Treuer, Anton. The Language Warrior’s Manifesto: How to Keep Our Languages Alive No Matter the Odds. Saint Paul: Minnesota Historical Society Press, 2020. 184 p.
P40.5 .L3572 A455 2020 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


Tse, Lucy. Resisting and Reversing Language Shift: Heritage-Language Resilience among U.S. Native Biliterates. Harvard Educational Review, 71.4 (2001): 676-709.
Harvard Educational Review


Willenbrink, Antonine. Notes on the Pima Indian Language. Franciscan Fathers of California, 1935. 67, 23 leaves.
PM2171 .W5x West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


Williams, Roger. A Key Into the Language of America, 5th ed. Providence: Rhode Island and Providence Plantations Tercentenary Committee, 1936. 14, 205 p.
PM2003 .Z5 W4 1936 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center
Digital edition of the London 1643 printing available via Early English Books Online, 1641-1700


Wilson, John P. Peoples of the Middle Gila: A Documentary History of the Pimas and Maricopas 1500s-1945. Sacaton, AZ: Gila River Indian Community, Cultural Resource Management Program, 2014. xviii, 343 p. Gila River Indian Community Anthropological Research Papers, no. 6
Being purchased for the ASU Library.


Winters, Harry J., Jr. Maricopa Place Names. Tucson: SRI Press, 2013. xxvii, 154 p.
Being purchased for the ASU Library.


Winters, Harry J., Jr. 'O'odham Place Names: Meanings, Origins, and Histories Arizona and Sonora, 1st ed. Tucson: Nighthorse, 2012. liv, 741 p.
E 99 .P25 W56 2012 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


Winters, Harry J., Jr. 'O'odham Place Names: Meanings, Origins, and Histories Arizona and Sonora, 2nd ed. Tucson: SRI Press, 2020. lxiii, 1,002 p.
E 99 .P25 W56 2020 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks


Winters, Harry J. 'O'odham Place Names Based on Rocks and Minerals. Journal of the Southwest, 59:3/4 (2017).
Project Muse Premium Collection


The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.