Login to LibApps


Map and Geospatial Hub: Maps Online

A guide to the ASU Library Map and Geospatial Hub.

Map Specialist

Karina Wilhelm's picture
Karina Wilhelm
Contact:
Map and Geospatial Hub
Noble Library, 3rd floor
480-965-5183
Website / Blog Page

Your Librarian

Mimmo Bonanni's picture
Mimmo Bonanni
Contact:
Hayden Library
C1R , 300 E Orange Mall, Tempe, AZ 85281
480-965-8168
Website / Blog Page

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Arizona Digital Sanborn Maps Database

The Map and Geospatial Hub holds copies of all of the Arizona cities mapped by the Sanborn Company as listed in the Library of Congress' checklist of Sanborn maps, Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress, and a number of later revised maps. The Arizona maps, depending on the town, date from 1867 to 1970. Use the Index of Arizona Sanborn Maps and Dates below to identify the maps by city and date. The maps are available in several formats including bound volumes, microfilm and via an electronic database - Digital Sanborn Maps. Off campus access to the Digital Sanborn Maps database is restricted to ASU users.

The Map and Geospatial Hub also has microfilm of some Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, and Utah Sanborn maps. Specific cities are listed in the catalog records for each: Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, and Utah.

About the Sanborn Maps

General Map Resources Online

Interactive maps of Maricopa County can be accessed at Maricopa.gov

Arizona Memory Project  

The Perry-Castañeda Map Collection also provides a list of other general map web sites.

See the Geographical Sciences Library Guide for other online resources.

Historic Map Resources Online

The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world.  It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search.

The David Rumsey Map Collection has over 50,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.

The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas Austin includes a collection of online CIA and historical maps. Online maps have worldwide coverage, with a focus on United States and Texas maps.

The Perry-Castañeda Map Collection also provides a list of other historical map web sites.

Hours and Locations