Login to LibApps

Marketing & Advertising Resources: Awards, Slogans, & Ad Campaigns

This Subject Guide is designed to be a list of the most frequently used sources for advertising and marketing information, particularly for ASU class projects.

Researching ads, slogans, and mottoes

To research a slogan, ad campaign, or advertising award, we need to know something about the ad. It is easiest if you know the company or brand name. We can do some research by using the product type or activity.  If you have an idea of the time period or the type of media used, that can also be helpful. On the subpages here I have listed some of the best places to track down this information.  To actually see an ad, if the image is not available through the John W Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History, we need to page through the magazines published during the time period.

Advertising Age (print copy started in 1930) has always been a good source for the announcements of ad campaigns and agency changes. 

The announcements of ad campaigns and agency changes are tracked historically in the Predicast's F&S Index : US - 1962-63, 1965-78, 1979-1992, 1992-2009, Europe, International

Ads & Slogans

Awards and Honors

There are many awards and honors for the many different aspects of advertising and marketing. These are some of the the web sites for the best known ones to the general public. Many advertising and marketing awards are also given by individual magazines in the industry.  To check for any books on these awards, search the ASU Library's Online Catalog. Using the KEYWORD search, type in the name of the award.

For a larger list of awards for advertising and marketing that also includes a blog, go to Award Winning Awards.

  1. American Advertising Awards.  Formerly called the ADDY. An award given by the American Advertising Federation & its local chapters for excellence in creative advertising.
  2. Clio Awards.  The best known advertising award in the United States. The television related awards are shown in some broadcast markets. The site now has a searchable database of Clio Award winners from 1960- in all five categories: television, radio, print/poster, design, and interactive
  3. DMA Awards.  The Direct Marketing Association recognizes excellence in the direct marketing industry.
  4. EFFIE.  "Effie awards Ideas that Work -- the great ideas that achieve real results and the strategy that goes into creating them.  Effie winners represent client and agency teams who tackled a marketplace challenge with a big idea and knew exactly how to communicate their message to their customer."
  5. Epica Awards: Europe's Premier Creative Awards. This award for advertising creativity started in 1987. The web site provides the list of winners for 1987- . They also have the Epica d'Or (overall winner) and the Stone Prize (photography).
  6. National Newspaper Association Awards. "NAA supports a variety of contests, competitions and awards that spotlight the best and the brightest programs, projects and people in the newspaper industry."
  7. OBIE Award. "The OBIE Award is one of the oldest and most prestigious honors for creative excellence in advertising. The OBIE is named after the egyptian obelisk, a tall stone structure that was used to publicize laws and treaties thousands of years ago, and is considered by historians to be the first true form of advertising." This award is given by the Outdoor Advertising Association of America.
  8. One Show. "The One Show, the premiere international advertising award show, sets the industry standard for creative advertising in print, television, radio, outdoor, innovative marketing, integrated branding and branded content. Each year, work is judged by an international jury of award-winning art directors, copywriters and creative directors."  It covers advertising in "print, radio, television, design, interactive and new media." The top award itself is a golden pencil. They also give a Green Pencil "to honor excellence in the field of environmentally-conscious advertising."  This awards show is sponsored by The One Club for Art and Copy.  "The One Club is the world's foremost non-profit organization for the recognition and promotion of excellence in advertising."
  9. The Rx Club Shows. The RX Club "honors work in print, electronic media, and video in the service of healthcare."
  10. Webby Award. "The leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet including Websites, Interactive Advertising, Online Film & Video and Mobile content."



Advertising Campaigns are often found in announcement notices in Advertising Age, described in books and web sites on Slogans and Advertising Awards, particularly the CLIO AWARDS for television, which is often broadcast like the Academy Awards (Oscars). ASU does collect books on advertising campaigns. Use the KEYWORD search to find your industry ("automobile", "beer", "beverages", etc.) and use the word "advertising" as another keyword. Older advertisements are more difficult to find because often they were not preserved. There is no index to advertisements at this time.

  1.  Ad*Access. John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History and the Digital Scriptorium, 1999- ."An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covering five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II - Ad*Access provides a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies preserved in one advertising collection (John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History) at Duke University." There are 4 other ad databases at the Hartman Center: Emergence of Advertising in America, Medicine and Madison AvenueRation Coupons on the Home Front, 1942-1945, and ROAD: Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions.
  2. AdCouncil Advertising Campaigns. The AdCouncil's public service advertising campaigns "have empowered millions to confront the major social issues of American life. You’ll learn about familiar campaigns like those that produced Smokey Bear and "A mind is a terrible thing to waste" as well as some you may be seeing for the first time. We’ll look at the campaigns moving Americans to action today – and those planned for the 21st century."
  3. AdFolio: AdSearch. This great database allows you to search for advertisements by medium type (magazine, TV, outdoor, etc.), agency, country, clients, brands, products, business sectors, production companies, and team members or celebrities. The small "i"  by the red shopping cart near the entry picture will provide you with the basic information: Title, Agency, City, Advertiser, Brand Name, Product Name, Business Sector, Country of Production, Language, Type (media), and Length.  Sometiems you will also get a Tagline, the Directors, and Copywriter. The fee based entries include the ad (photo or video clip), storyline, title, agency, URL, advertiser, brand name, product category, campaign name, date of first publication, market, country of production, language, type, length, tagline, and credits (creative director, agency copywriter, agency art director, agency producer, production company, film director, director of photography, photographer, and celebrity).
  4. Advertising Archives Limited. "The largest collection of its kind in the world, and a unique reference source for the media, collectors, designers, advertising agencies, academics and all those who are interested in art, social history, sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll, and every product that has been advertised in the last 150 years!" This now goes back as far as the 1400's. The unusual ad items included are: Press Ads, Magazine Covers, Movie Posters, Comics, and Ephemera like cigarette cards. You can view the print ad page thumbnail, but to see a larger picture you must register.  Only a small selection (50,000 of 1 million) is currently available online.
  5. Advertising World Links to Advertising Resources: Ads.  This is an extensive list of specific product ad sites (tobacco, milk, ads from comic books, etc.) and sites with collections of ads such as the best and the worst ads. This list is maintained by University of Texas, Department of Advertising.
  6. Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns.  Vol. 1: print copy  Vol. 2: ebook  This is an encycolpedia of the major marketing campaigns of the Twentieth Century. Each campaign included has an overview, historical context, target market, competition, market strategy, outcome, and further reading.
  7. Gaslight Advertising Archives. This is a fee-based service. It is included here because they have advertisements as far back as 1880's. This can be crucial since libraries often excluded ads from the binding and mircrofilming processes of magazine and newspaper preservation until the later half of the 20th century.
  8. Vintage Ad Browser. "This site aims to collect vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, APIs, your submissions, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more. At the moment, this site contains 123,311 ads. Vintage Ad Browser has a sister site called Cover Browser, created in 2006 – please have a look." Please note: "Vintage ads are shown here in fair use context. Every gallery's images are © by their original company or artist. This site does not endorse any advertisement."
  1. Ad*Access

     The best of the John W Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History's ad databases. It is an image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

  2. AdSlogans Unlimited.

    This is included here because it does have access to a searchable database of slogans, for a fee. The Slogans Hall of Fame is also on this site. This is a very nice site because the basic information of the Brand, Slogan, Ad Agency, and year of the ad are included. Not all of the winners will be familiar to those in the U.S. because the slogans are from ad campaigns world wide over the last century. There are hot buttons for links to an example of the ad and any interesting sidelights of the ad for some of the slogans. While this is sponsored by AdSlogans Unlimited, the nominees are voted on by British advertising executives. The nominations form for the Hall of Fame are available on the web site for anyone to submit.

  3. Advertising Slogans of America (book)

    This 1984 book has a single alphabetical arrangement for companies and slogans, this can be very easy to use.

  4. American Mottoes and Slogans (book)

    This book was published in 1941, but many of our more polular slogans are that old.

  5. Effective Echo: A Dictionary of Advertising Slogans (book)

    As old as this is (1970), the value of this book is for finding those old slogans. This work has three sections: the Dictionary of Slogans, the Subject Classification and the Company Source. Each section has the complete information for each entry. The two appendices in the back provide the slogan list issues for Printers' Ink and a list of related sources of slogans.

  6. Emergence of Advertising in America

    A database of over 9,000 advertising items and publications (1850 - 1920), illustrating the rise of consumer culture, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry. Also from the John W Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History.

  7. Every Bite a Delight and Other Slogans (book)

    This 1992 book is arranged by thematic categories that tend to be industry names as well, this work provides the slogan, the product, and the company using the slogan. An index to slogans is in the back of the book. There are no indications of when the slogan was used.

  8. Medicine and Madison Avenue

    A John W Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History database of over 600 health-related advertisements printed between 1911 and 1958, as well as 35 selected historical documents relating to health-related advertising.

  9. ROAD: Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions

    A database of over 50,000 descriptions of images of outdoor advertising dating from the 1920s through the 1990s, pulled from four outdoor advertising collections including the Outdoor Advertising Association of America (OAAA). No images are available from this website.

  10. Slogans. 1st. ed. 1984.  (book)

    Not all of the slogans are advertising slogans. Many of the slogans were advertising for well-known political campaigns. This work provides the slogan, the product and the company source of the slogan. Arranged by industry/product type this work also has a company index and a slogan index.

  11. Slogans - Texas Advertising Research (UT Austin)

    These are in alphabetical order by the company or product name. No dates of usage are given with these. Many are included in the slogan and motto books in the ASU Library.

  12. Slogans That Have Become Part of the English Vernacular 

    This PDF file is purely a list of slogans in aphabetical order. The company name is provided if the brand name is not part of the slogan.

  13. Top 10 Slogans of the Century

    This is really the 20th Century, although some are still in use.

  14. TV Acres: Advertising Slogans

    These are primarily slogans used in the advertising on television. The arrangement is by brand. No dates of use are given.  Celebrity endorsments and mastcots are on ather pages at this web site.

  15. US Presidential Campaign Slogans (Wikipedia). 

    This is not the most reliable source, but a starting point for searching the newspapers and magazines of the time.
Loading ...

Your Librarian

Jenny Mueller-Alexander's picture
Jenny Mueller-Alexander
Areas of expertise
Business, Economics, & Entrepreneruship
Ira A. Fulton Engineering: Polytechnic School &
ASU Libraries @ Polytechnic campus
Profile and Guides
LOCATION: 38 CNTR Polytechnic campus
Mon-Fri................7:00 am - 3:00 pm
or by appointment
Skype Contact

Hours and Locations