Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Pride

Home

Header Image

Web Resources

LGBTQIA+ Websites, Blogs, and Resources

Blogs, News, and Online Magazines

LGBTQ Nation: News, Opinions, Arts and Culture - The Most Followed LGBTQ News Source

Pink News: PinkNews covers politics, entertainment, religion and community news for the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community

The Gaily Grind: The Gaily Grind is a LGBTQ news magazine, reporting on the latest LGBTQ news, entertainment and topics of great importance within the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Autostraddle: News, Entertainment, Opinion, Community, and Girl-On-Girl Culture.

Black Girl Dangerous: This blog seeks to amplify the voices and experiences of queer and trans* people of color.

The Body Is Not an Apology: Fosters global, radical, unapologetic self love which translates to radical human love and action in service toward a more just, equitable and compassionate world.

Outsports: A voice for LGBT athletes: Outsports is the world's leading gay-sports publication. They talk about gay sports organizations and events. Sports and gay athletes information on jocks, sports news and more. They encompass the sporting passions of gay and lesbian sports fans everywhere.

Gay Star News: Gay Star News is a global LGBTI news on gay current affairs, entertainment, business & more for the gay, lesbian, bisexual & transgender communities.

AfterEllen: Works the lesbian/bi pop culture beat with a fun, feminist perspective on film, television, music, books, and sports. They also cover lifestyle issues like lesbian sex and dating, coming out, and our take on the current political climate as it affects our community. Follow AfterEllen to get the latest update from lesbian world.

Tom & Lorenzo: Fabulous and Opinionated: LGBTQ take on celebrities, fashion, and pop culture. 

 

National Organizations

Campus Pride: "The primary objective of Campus Pride is to develop necessary resources, programs and services to support LGBTQ and ally students on college campuses across the United States."

Gay-Straight Alliance Network: "Gay-Straight Alliance Network (GSA Network) is a next-generation LGBTQ racial and gender justice organization that empowers and trains queer, trans and allied youth leaders to advocate, organize, and mobilize an intersectional movement for safer schools and healthier communities."

The GSA Network: "GSA Network is a next-generation LGBTQ racial and gender justice organization that empowers and trains queer, trans and allied youth leaders to advocate, organize, and mobilize an intersectional movement for safer schools and healthier communities."

Book Awards

Rainbow Book List: Compiled each year by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. The list is published annually and is a biography of quality LGBTQIA titles recommended for children and teens.

Stonewall Book Awards: The first LGBTQIA book award, the Stonewall list includes fiction and non-fiction categories for children, young adults and adults. Sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Round Table.

Lambda Literary Awards: The Lambda Literary Awards identify and celebrate the best lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender books of the year and affirm that LGBTQ stories are part of the literature of the world." Includes children's/YA category.

Gay-Themed Picture Books for Children: A comprehensive list of picture books relating to LGBTQIA issues.

Research

Databases

Archives

Archives

Herstories Audiovisual Collection


Digital Transgender Archive


June Mazer Lesbian Archives


One- Archives Foundation

Digital Archives

History

Digital Transgender Archives (DTA): The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials.

GLBT Historical Society: Founded in 1985, the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history. 

Invisible History Project:The Invisible Histories Project is designed to be a repository for the preservation of the history of LGBTQ life first in the state of Alabama and then the entire Southeast. 

Lesbian Herstory Archives: Herstories (LHA): Gathers and preserve records of Lesbian lives and activities so that future generations will have ready access to materials relevant to their lives.

NYPL Digital Collections - LGBTQ Materials

OutHistory.org: OutHistory.org tells stories about people in the past who identified as lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender; and people who did not conform to dominant norms of sexuality and gender.


Oral Histories

ACT-UP Oral History Project: The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York. 

LGBTQ Religious Archives Network (LGBTQ-RAN): This page provides in-depth interviews with more than 40 early leaders of LGBTQ+ religious movements. 

StoryCorps: Outloud: StoryCorps’ mission is to preserve and share humanity’s stories in order to build connections between people and create a more just and compassionate world.


Media

Bay Area Reporter: Bay Area Reporter is the America's longest continuously-published, and highest circulation LGBTQ newspaper, and the undisputed newspaper of record serving San Francisco's lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities.

Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press: Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. 

The Queer Zine Archive Project: QZAP: Zine Archive


Legal Documents/Supreme Court Cases

LGBT History in Government Documents

Hours and Locations