Government Shutdown Information
Find Government Documents
To locate publications and documents in the Government Documents Collection:
- Recent and current federal government documents may be found in the ASU Library Online Catalog
- Materials will have a HAYDEN US DOCUMENTS location in one of the following formats: print, online, microfiche, CD/DVD, etc., depending on the agency and/or date published
- Many Federal documents in our collection, prior to 1976, can not be searched through our Online Catalog. It is possible to identify these documents using other resources, including:
- Worldcat (1789-present)
- Specialized printed indexes or catalogs available in the Government Documents Collection
Once identified, these publications can be searched for in our physical collection.
- Please contact us for assistance
*Information Regarding Federal Government Shutdown*
As of October 1, 2013, the United States Federal Government is without a budget and has 'shut down'. While this will affect most government resources (websites, offices, etc.) the particulars will vary from agency to agency. Some websites are no longer updating information, and some websites have basically 'closed'. If you come across a website that appears to be down, try copying the website's URL, and plugging it into the Wayback Machine at the Internet Archive. You should then have access to the website and all associated links for various dates in the past.
You may also contact us and we will do our best to assist you.
About the Government Documents Collection
Location: Hayden Library, Level 3
Reference hours (In-person, telephone):
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday
480-965-3390
Email Reference via GovDoc-Info
The Government Documents Collection is comprised of three collections:
The Federal Documents Collection
The Arizona State and Local Government Collection
The United Nations Collection
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code).
This Library Guide is modeled on the great work done by Gwen Sinclair and the folks at the University of Hawa'ii at Manoa Libraries.
Subject Guide
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
