Login to LibApps

SOC 241 Modern Social Problems: Assignment 2

Find instructions for locating newspaper articles (public attention data) on "poverty industry" topics in this guide.

Introduction

For your second assignment, you will be evaluating a social issue of your choosing, and tracking its use historically within three newspapers of your choosing.

News Databases

Access World News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from several thousand U.S. and international newspapers and newswire sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Also includes broadcast transcripts, business  magazines  and miscellaneous other source types.

Nexis Uni

Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.

Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.

Arizona Republic
Contains full text of most articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. Does not include images and advertisements.

New York Times
The New York Times, published in New York City since 1851, is the largest metropolitan newspaper in the United States. The New York Times has long been an important source of reporting, information and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad, with special emphasis on the New York metropolitan area.

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Allows for cross-searching of the Alt-PressWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch indexes as well as current Arizona RepublicBarron'sLos Angeles TimesWall Street JournalWall Street Journal AsiaWall Street Journal Europe and Chicago Tribune and historical Atlanta ConstitutionGuardianHartford CourantLos Angeles TimesNew York TimesObserverWashington PostAtlanta Daily WorldBaltimore Afro-AmericanChicago DefenderCleveland Call and PostLos Angeles SentinelNew York Amsterdam NewsNorfolk Journal and GuidePhiladelphia Tribune, and Pittsburg Courier

AP Digital Photo Archive
Contains current and historic photographs drawn largely from the Associated Press database of images. The archive includes contemporary news images, historical figures, celebrities, and images drawn from key events of the 19th and 20th centuries.

Directory of LexisNexis News Sources

For information on all of the sources found in Lexis Nexis search within the directory

Accessing News Articles

You can refine your search by:

  • Selecting Source from the menu on the left and typing the name of the newspaper you wish to search (e.g., Richmond Times Dispatch)
  • Specifying a specific date or date range.
  • Selecting a specific state or region from the Locations menu or map.

 


Step 1. Connect to LexisNexis from the Library Home Page

Image of the frequently use resources section on the library homepage. The 9th item in the list, lexis nexis, is circled in red.


Step 2. Under the Search Bar, select "Advanced Options"

Image of the LexisNexis search box. A large black arrow is pointing to the advanced options button, located underneath the search bar.


Step 3. Limit Source (Newspaper) options by typing in the names of 3 newspapers that you want to search and select the newspaper from the list that appears. If the newspaper you want does not appear, then it is not available in LexisNexis and you'll have to choose another or use another database.


Step 4. Once the sources are selected in advanced search, you can now do the search. In the search box type in Headline(your topic) to search for all newspaper articles with your social problem only in the headline of the news article.


Step 5. Sort your results from oldest to newest using the "sort" option


Step 6. On the left-hand side of the results page, you can view the breakdown in number of articles on your topic by each individual newspaper. Press the "+" button next to "newspapers" under the "Sources by category" heading. The number in parentheses next to the title indicates how many headlines about your topic have been published by that newspaper.

Loading

Newsbank Tutorial

Important Documents

Top 10 Daily Newspapers

  • USA Today 
  • The New York Times 
  • The Wall Street Journal 
  • Los Angeles Times 
  • New York Post
  • Chicago Tribune 
  • The Washington Post 
  • Newsday 
  • Daily News 
  • am New York 

Hours and Locations