Login to LibApps

Special Collections: Manuscripts

Personal Papers and Organizational Records

Special Collections has manusrcipt collections by or about: authors, literary research, printers, political issues, film history, science and math research, Southeast Asian war correspondents and translators' papers. 

Hand-written or typescript papers are called manuscripts and are organized into collections. Collections often include correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, videos, photographs, research and speeches.

Arizona Archives Online (AAO) contains finding aids, detailed lists of items in manuscript collections, for personal papers and organizational records, that contain information, such as provenance (who owns copyright); biographies and histories; the scope of the collection--size, subjects covered; series organization; and arrangement of the items. To only search ASU's Special Collections holdings, click on the Advanced Search tab and select "Special Collections" under Arizona State University.

Not all manuscript collecions have an AAO finding aid. Some finding aids are in print form in the Luhrs Reading Room. The Accession Records of Special Collections contain brief descriptions of unprocessed collections. Access to these collections are by appointment only. Contact Archivist Katherine Krzys to make an appointment and to learn more about the contents of collections without finding aids. 

Manuscript Collections by Subject

Beat Generation

Biographer

Children's Authors

China War Correspondents

Holocaust (Shoa) Survivor

Literary Research

Printers

Political

Science/Math 

Science Fiction

Southeast Asian

Translators' Papers

Performing Arts Manuscript Collections

Film

Television

Theatre

Subject Guide

Kathy Krzys's picture
Kathy Krzys
Contact:
480-965-6519

Hours and Locations