Depending on your topic, here are some of the best databases for getting started:
Academic Search Premier - Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor.
Contemporary Womens Issues - Provides full-text access to global information on women. Indexes journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies.
Humanities Full Text - Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc
SocIndex with Full Text - A social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Sociological Abstracts - Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts - Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and conference proceedings on women's studies and gender studies.
Women’s Studies International (1972+) - Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.
AccessUN - Indexes current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications, including resolutions, treaties, and UN periodicals.
Communication and Mass Media Complete - Provides indexing for communication related titles including many in the field of advertising and consumerism.
JSTOR (Electronic Journals Collection) - Full-text archive of journals (doesn’t include most recent years.
OECD iLibrary - Provides access to the full text of selected studies produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. OECD and IEA statistics are included under the Statistics tab.
PAIS International - Public Affairs Information Service. Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations,public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.
Project Muse - Provides worldwide, networked, subscription access to the full text of nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
PsycINFO - Indexes literature in psychology & related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology). Covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations & technical reports.
Social Sciences Citation Index - Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1,700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 - Contains 52 document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Also contains 19,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and SocialMovements
Google Scholar Metrics allows authors to view journal rankings and ratings by various h-indeces. Journal ranking can be viewed for the top 100 publications in 9 different languages, or by broad subject research areas and numerous subcategories. Scholar Metrics uses those articles published between 2009 and 2013 and citation from all articles indexed in Google Scholar.
Top Publications in:
Ethnic NewsWatch Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.
Alt-PressWatch Full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.
Access World News Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Arizona Republic Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. For access to older articles, 1987-1998, see also CD-News: Arizona Republic January 1999 to present
Nexis Uni Full text of over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals.