This is the "Home" page of the "Buddhist Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Buddhist Studies  

Last Updated: Dec 27, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=50350 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Images, Videos, and Webcasts

Images from the Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art.

The Circle of Bliss: Buddhist Meditational Art. Online exhibition presented by the Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art.

Essentials of Faith: Buddhism (24 mins). This program presents ways of articulating Buddhist thought from six straightfoward and insightful practitioners.

What's So Funny About the Laughing Buddha? A part of the Buddhist Studies at UC Berkeley Webcasts. Plenary address for the "Does Humor Belong in Buddhism" conference by Donald Lopez.

 

e-Journals

Contemporary Buddhism: Interdiscipinary forum for the analysis and critical evaluation of the contribution of Buddhism to the emergence of a global culture. (peer reviewed)

Journal of Global Buddhism: Online forum for academic articles on Buddhism and Cultural Change.

Journal of Buddhist Ethics: Academic journal devoted to the study of Buddhist ethics. (peer reviewed)

Tricycle: The Buddhist Review: Popular publication dedicated to making Buddhist teaching available.

Buddhist-Christian Studies.  A scholarly journal devoted to Buddhism and Christianity and their historical and contemporary interrelationships, Buddhist-Christian Studies presents thoughtful articles, conference reports, and book reviews. It also includes sections on comparative methodology and historical comparisons, as well as ongoing discussions from two dialogue conferences: the Theological Encounter with Buddhism, and the Japan Society for Buddhist Christian Studies.

Dao. A journal of comparative philosophy

 

Online Resources

Buddha Dharma Education Association (Buddhanet). A reliable general source for scholarly articles, bibliographies, short overviews, and other resources on Buddhism.

Buddhist Dictionary of Pali Proper Names useful for sorting out various terms and figures.

Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual Library: The Internet Guide to Buddhism and Buddhist Studies.

BBC's Religion and Ethics-Buddhism provides general information about Buddhism.

The Buddha Channel provides news about Buddhists around the world.

Buddhist eLibrary provides eBooks, images, audio files, and videos on various Buddhist topics. An initiative of Buhhanet.net

DharmaNet a multi-media resource center for learning about meditation, wisdom and compassionate action.

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism maintained by A.C.Miller this resource has links to various dictionaries and textual databases.

Digital Library and Museum of Buddhist Studies from the National Taiwan University. Offeres a wide array of eBooks, eJournals, and other digital materials (in various languages including some in English).

Dharma Texts from the Dragon Flower Ch'an Temple.

Internet Sacred Text Archive offers translations of a wide range of Bddhist texts.

Portal to Asian Internet Resources (PAIR) - Buddhism. This resource provides links to Buddhist related web sites from The University of Wisconsin.

The Thesaurus Literaturae Buddhicae (TLB) is a quadrilingual presentation of Buddhist literature sentence by sentence in Sanskrit, Chinese, Tibetan and English from the University of Oslo.

 

 

Library One Search

Library One Search - Try It!

Additional "Library One Search" Pages


For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Libraries Toolbar into your web browser.
Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Libraries Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Ralph Gabbard
Logo - MSN
Contact Info
Office C1U
Hayden Library
480 965-0620
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip