COM 207 - Introduction to Communication Inquiry
Need more help?
LIBKEY Nomad
- LIBKEY NomadLibKey Nomad is a browser extension for Google Chrome, and other browsers, that provides full-text for articles available through ASU Library as you search the web.
Key Words
- Academic Database Keyword WorksheetInteractive Google worksheet you can copy and use to help determine key words for searching in library databases for academic journal articles
- Tutorial - Using Keywords and Search ConnectorsWhen you search in databases, you can’t approach them like you do Google. Keywords and search connectors are essential to effective database searches. The process of generating keywords and using search connectors has two added bonuses: understanding your research topic better and helping you become a better researcher, both academically and in your leisure time. In this tutorial, you will learn the basics about searching in Google and databases and how to tailor your approach for database searches.
About Articles
- The Parts of Research ArticlesThis handout shows the parts of research articles.
- Tutorial - Finding and Using Article TypesBy the end of this tutorial you will be able to:
Recognize what articles are
Understand there are different types of articles
Distinguish characteristics of different article types
Identify different article types in research database search results
Limit database searches to types of articles
Evaluating Sources
Tutorial - Evaluating Resources - There is a lot of information out there, not all of it useful or trustworthy. Shouldn't you really check to see if it is CRAAP ?
-
CRAAP Test WorksheetThe CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Select a source appropriate to your research topic. Use that source to answer the questions below to determine if it is appropriate to use.
Citation Resources
Tutorial - APA Citation Style - Citations are a critical part of the research process:
- Citations credit the author of the original work who provided you with the information or idea
- Citations allow your audience to identify and find the source material in order to learn more about your topic
- Citations give your paper more credibility because it shows you're supporting your arguments with high-quality sources
- Citations help you avoid plagiarism & demonstrate your integrity as a responsible researcher and participant in your field of study
APA Web Guide from the OWL at Purdue
Citation Fox
Contains templates and examples for over 500 different resource types, sorted by type of resource (book, journal article, etc.) Provided by the University Libraries at University at Albany SUNY
Communication Theories
The Theory List: Theories Covered in the 11th Edition of your textbook, Communication: A First Look at Communication Theory.
A list of Communication Theories, clustered by topic, with definitions, history, core assumptions, and lists of key references, maintained by The University of Twente in the Netherlands. Connect to Communication Theory Clusters
Communication Research Database
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
This database is a research and reference source in the fields of communication, journalism, and mass media. The database also covers some aspects of the field of advertising and related topics. The database indexes and abstracts journals and conference presentations.
Literature Reviews and Annotated Bibliographies
What is a Literature Review?
An overview of the significant literature published on a topic. Rather than evaluating each source separately, a lit review is written in essay form, and explains how each work is similar to and how it varies from the others.
For more detailed information, see How to Write a Literature Review.
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
An Annotated Bibliography is a list of all the sources you are going to use to write your paper. "Annotations" are short paragraphs that describe and evaluate each one of those sources separately.
For more detailed information, see Write an Annotated Bibliography.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
