COM 308 - Advanced Research Methods in Communication
Need more help?
Communication Research Measures
Communication Research Measures by
An essential sourcebook, this volume provides complete reviews of currently useful communication scales, indexes, and other measures in four important communication contexts: interpersonal, mass, organizational, and instructional. It presents the scales in their entirety, instructions for administration and scoring, and information in validity and reliability. For hands-on practicality, the measures are ordered alphabetically by title.
Call number: P91.3 .C62 1994ISBN: 0898622913Publication date: 1994-09-30
Communication Research Measures II by
Expanding and building on the measures included in the original 1994 volume, Communication Research Measures II: A Sourcebook provides new measures in mass, interpersonal, instructional, and group/organizational communication areas, and highlights work in newer subdisciplines in communication, including intercultural, family, and health. It also includes measures from outside the communication discipline that have been employed in communication research. The measures profiled here are "the best of the best" from the early 1990s through today. They are models for future scale development as well as tools for the trade, and they constitute the main tools that researchers can use for self-administered measurement of people's attitudes, conceptions of themselves, and perceptions of others. The focus is on up-to-date measures and the most recent scales and indexes used to assess communication variables. Providing suggestions for measurement of concepts of interest to researchers; inspiring students to consider research directions not considered previously; and supplying models for scale developers to follow in terms of the work necessary to produce a valid and reliable measurement instrument in the discipline, the authors of this key resource have developed a significant contribution toward improving measurement and providing measures for better science.
Call number: P91.3 .C623 2009eb OnlineISBN: 0203871537Publication date: 2009-05-14
- COMMUNICATION RESEARCH MEASURESThese are measures that have been developed by researchers who are, or at one time were, faculty members or graduate students at West Virginia University. They were developed for use by researchers and may be used for research or instructional purposes with no individualized permission.
Research Databases
ComAbstracts - indexes articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication field.
Communication & Mass Media Complete - thisdatabase has the most comprehensive coverage of Communication journals.
PsycInfo - the primary index of psychological literature as well as related disciplines such as medicine, sociology, linguistics and other areas.
SocIndex - offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas.
Sociological Abstracts - covers theoretical and applied sociology, social science & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, family studies, urban studies, social psychology and more.
Google Scholar - enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature and find cited articles.
Academic Search Ultimate - a multidisciplinary database that provides full-text access to over 3,600 peer-reviewed scholarly publications.
APA Citation Assistance
APA Web Guide from the OWL at Purdue
Style Wizard
This interactive site guides you through writing individual citations one step at a time. Steps for each part of a citation explains how information for that part should be entered.
Citation Fox
Contains templates and examples for over 500 different resource types, sorted by type of resource (book, journal article, etc.) Provided by the University Libraries at University at Albany SUNY
Tracing Citations
- Experts.ASUData contained in Experts.ASU is pulled from Elsevier's SCOPUS database. Only data for ASU faculty is included; for articles not in Experts.ASU, use the SCOPUS database to obtain a citation count.
Because the data comes from the same source, you may compare citation counts from Experts.ASU with citations counts from Scopus (provided the articles are in the same field and published close to the same date.)
- Go to Experts.ASU
- In the center of the screen Click on "Scholarly Works" and type the title of the article into the search box. (Putting the title within quote marks will make the search more efficient; for long titles, searching the first 5-7 words is usually sufficient.)
- On the results page, find the article and look to the right of the screen for the citation count. If the article has one, you will also see the colorful "Altmetric donut".
- Google ScholarThis interdisciplinary database is a good place to search broadly for scholarly articles on your topic. It will cover journals in business, education and computer science.
To find citation counts in Google Scholar:
- Go to Google Scholar via the above link (through ASU Library).
- Enter the title of the document within quote marks.
- The Google Scholar citation count will be the first item of the last line of the article's entry, as "Cited by #".
- To see what documents cited this article, click on the "Cited by" link
- ScopusScopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.
To find citation counts in Scopus
- Go to the Scopus database
- Search by the document's title
- In the results list, look in the far-right hand column for the citation count.
- To see what documents cited the document, click on the citation count.
In addition to the two large multidisciplinary databases developed for citation analysis (Web of Science and Scopus), many other indexing and abstracting service now also provide citation counts for the articles in their databases. These other databases have limitations, however, mainly because they do not have as wide a scope of sources from which they pull the data and for the lack of specific citation reports the larger databases can generate. Frequently, citation counts from subject-focused databases will be smaller than the counts obtained from Web of Science, Scopus or Google Scholar.
For example, while PubMed provides citation counts for articles, it is only looking at the other articles in the PubMed database to obtain that count. Should an article in PubMed be cited by a social sciences journal article, PubMed will not be able to count that citation.
On the other hand, these specialized subject databases may cover some lesser-known journals in the field or even cover types of literature (patents, conference papers) that the larger services don't. If your goal is to find as much literature as you can that has cited an article then always include searching the specialized subject databases in your area in addition to the large multi-disciplinary ones.
As always, make "apples to apples" comparisons; if you use citation counts from a subject focused service, only compare them with counts from the same service.
Most citation counts in other databases will either be located on each entry in the results list (similar to Web of Science or Scopus) or you may have to click on the title in each entry to find the count on the "full record" page.
Example:
PsycInfo (ProQuest)
Literature Reviews and Annotated Bibliographies
- Literature Reviews and Annotated BibliographiesVery useful library guide on writing and constructing Literature Reviews.
Contact me
Debbie Abston 602-496-0307 ASU Library Downtown Phoenix campus UCENT L131
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
