COM 310 - Relational Communication
Need more help?
LIBKEY Nomad
-
LIBKEY NomadLibKey Nomad is a browser extension for Google Chrome, and other browsers, that provides full-text for articles available through ASU Library as you search the web.
Communication Databases
Recommended starting points
-
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)Provides comprehensive indexing to the key journals for all aspects of communications studies. Other databases and indexes organized by more than 150 subjects.
-
ComAbstractsDeveloped by the Communication Institute of Online Scholarship (CIOS), this database provides indexing to core journal literature and books in the fields of communication and journalism.
Additional Resources
-
COMINDEXProvides access to the contents of 21 core communication journals. It is a subset of the COMINDEX database.
-
ComAnalyticsComAnalytics provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.).
-
Academic Search Ultimate
Access to popular press magazines and peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various academic disciplines, including open-access journals and historic Associated Press videos.
-
ABI/INFORM CollectionComprehensive access to full-text business and economics journals, dissertations, working papers, and key periodicals like The Economist and The Wall Street Journal, along with detailed company and industry reports
-
Access World News
Full-text content from thousands of U.S. and international newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and business magazines, providing diverse viewpoints on local and global issues.
-
JSTORAccess millions of articles, books, and primary sources, focusing on back issues of scholarly journals; an essential resource for research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes AI assistant:
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsIndexes books, conferences, dissertations, theses, and scholarly journals on the nature and use of language. Covers linguistics (nature and structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and pathology of speech, language, and hearing.
-
ProQuest News & NewspapersProQuest news databases, including historical and current newspapers, alternative press, and historical Black newspapers.
-
SAGE Journals
Includes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
-
Sociological AbstractsCovers journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and conference papers, book reviews related theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Topics include sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.
-
Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThe Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news, recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The Archive's collection includes news coverage of significant events broadcast outside the scope of the regular evening news programs.
Communication Theories
-
The Theory ListTheories covered in the 11th Edition of your textbook, Communication: A First Look at Communication Theory
-
Communication Theories - sorted by categoriesChoosing a theory for an assignment or report is made easier, since you are able to ‘browse’ through the different theories. Stay critical when you use a theory, because theories are subjectively measured. Make your own judgment about which theories are most helpful and think why they are helpful.
Citation Resources
ASU Library Tutorial - APA Citation Style
Citations are a critical part of the research process:
-
Citations credit the author of the original work who provided you with the information or idea
-
Citations allow your audience to identify and find the source material in order to learn more about your topic
-
Citations give your paper more credibility because it shows you're supporting your arguments with high-quality sources
-
Citations help you avoid plagiarism & demonstrate your integrity as a responsible researcher and participant in your field of study
APA Web Guide from the OWL at Purdue
A comparably thorough and easy to use guide, only for APA.
Citation Fox
Contains templates and examples for over 500 different resource types, sorted by type of resource (book, journal article, etc.) Provided by the University Libraries at University at Albany SUNY
Helpful Links
-
Graduate Student ResourcesAdvanced academic, teaching, and research support is provided by the ASU Library for ASU graduate students.
-
Interlibrary LoanYou can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request items from other libraries to support your learning, research, and teaching. This service is free and available for current ASU students, faculty, and staff.
-
Library GuidesLibrary Guides help students, faculty, and staff navigate the large amount of ASU Library print and digital information. You may find library guides for specific disciplines or courses. You may also find library guides on general topics and library services.
-
Research DatabasesThe ASU Library provides access to hundreds of research databases containing scholarly and professional articles, as well as reports, data sets, statistics, case studies, e-books, and other materials.
-
Streaming VideoProvides descriptions and links to licenses, internet, and pay-per-view streaming video resources.