Thunderbird Global Challenge Lab: Summer 2024
ASU Business Databases
Best Bets
The following databases are popular business-related resources for beginning your research.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowGreat source for business publications--academic journals, newspapers (contains FT and WSJ), magazines, trade publications, market research, and industry profiles.
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowFull text business journals including Harvard Business Review (HBR), Bloomberg.com, and more. Extremely important database.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowGlobal business directory searchable by company, industry, size, and location.
- Mintel Academic Reports This link opens in a new windowMarket research on US consumer markets. Market size, market share, segmentation, trends, demographic profiles, consumer behavior.
- Orbis This link opens in a new windowDetailed company financial data, original filings, ownership and subsidiary information on companies worldwide. For some countries, private company information is included.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowConsumer market information covering 360 markets and 227 countries including socioeconomic profiles and reports for 850 cities of the world.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on markets, industries, media, business, finance, politics, population, opinion, lifestyles and a wide variety of other areas of interest. Provides ready-made charts, graphs, and tables.
For all of the rest . . .
Follow the link below for a complete list of ASU Library's databases in business.
- ASU Library Business DatabasesAll of the business-related databases available to Thunderbird and ASU students.
- Leisure Tourism Collection This link opens in a new windowTourism policy and planning, education and training, travel, sports, hospitality, the arts and entertainment, sustainability, recreational activities and cultural heritage.
- Country Commercial Guides (US Government)Check out the report on your country of interest--especially the section on leading sectors for investment
Gartner
Arizona State University faculty, students and staff have access to Gartner. Among the research that can be found in Gartner are items on:
- Technology products, services, and trends
- Global IT industry perspectives
- IT management and organizations
- IT strategies and governance
- Business-IT issues
- Real-world case studies
Gartner is known for Hype Cycles that track the adoption of types of technologies, such as Emerging Technologies, Smart Government, and Human-Computer Interaction and their Magic Quadrants that provide a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers in fast-growing markets: Leaders, Visionaries, Niche Players and Challengers.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
