How to find Online Resources regarding Codices and Colonial Latin American Documents.

The following resource list of databases for the the study of codices and Latin American colonial documents was compiled by Claudia Brittenham, co-instructor for the workshop for New Spain at the Newberry: Demystifying Colonial Documents from the Ayer Collection, offered on 16 February 2018 at the Newberry Library in Chicago, IL.

https://www.newberry.org/02162018-new-spain-newberry-library-demystifying-colonial-documents-ayer-collection

Synopsis: The Edward E. Ayer Collection of rare books and manuscripts contained 4,000 rare colonial documents from New Spain when it was given to the Newberry Library in 1911. The rich materials represented the early contacts between American Indians and Europeans, including sermons and dictionaries in indigenous languages handwritten by priests and pictorial court documents created by indigenous artists that contested land holdings in the Valley of Mexico. This one-day workshop will use the Ayer Collection and its history to discuss the historical migration of books in the global market. The workshop will also allow graduate students an opportunity to consult rare documents in the collection by learning how to read, contextualize, and interpret them.

Applications for the next session of the workshop, to be taught by Seonaid Valiant, Curator for Latin American Studies at the ASU Library and Claudia Brittenham, Professor of Art History at the University of Chicago, will be available in mid 2019.

Resources regarding Codices and Colonial Latin American Documents:

Newberry Library: https://www.newberry.org/

Online catalog: https://webvoyage.carli.illinois.edu/nby/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&PAGE=First

The Aztecs and the Making of Colonial Mexico, an online exhibition: http://publications.newberry.org/aztecs/index_en.html

Writing the Voices of the Americas, online exhibition of print history :http://publications.newberry.org/dig/voices/index

Popol Vuh online: https://library.osu.edu/projects/popolwuj/folios_eng/index.php

Allen Christenson’s literal and poetic translations of the Popol Vuh can be downloaded here:

http://www.mesoweb.com/publications/Christenson/PopolVuh.pdf

http://www.mesoweb.com/publications/Christenson/PV-Literal.pdf ]

World Digital Library: www.wdl.org

Includes the Florentine Codex, The Matrícula de Tributos, the Mapa Siguenza, the Uppsala Map, several Relaciones Geográficas, the Codex Columbino, the Boban Calendar Wheel, the Codex Azcatitlan, the Codex Ixtlilxochitl, the Codex Mexicanus, the Tonalamatl Aubin, the Matrícula de Huehotzingo, the Codex Chavero of Huehotzingo, the Codex Osuna (here called the Painting of the Governor, Mayors, and Rulers of Mexico) and other documents. The following link will produce all documents from Mexico: https://www.wdl.org/en/search/?countries=MX#2963

INAH Codex Resources: http://codices.inah.gob.mx/pc/micrositio.php

Includes the Codex Cruz Badiano, the Tira de la Peregrinación/Codex Boturini, the Matrícula de Tributos, the Codex Mendoza, and the Tonalamatl Aubin, along with many other documents. (INAH is the Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia, Mexico)

Also check out the Codex Mendoza app: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/codex-mendoza/id950845186 (English) and https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/c%C3%B3dice-mendoza/id916271921?mt=8 (Spanish, which is useful for transcriptions)

And the Tira de la Peregrinación app: https://itunes.apple.com/mx/app/c%C3%B3dice-boturini/id1019334242?mt=8

Biblioteca Digital Mexicana: http://bdmx.mx/

Includes the Primeros Memoriales, http://bdmx.mx/detalle_documento/?id_cod=34&carp=06, Relaciones Geográficas maps, and many other useful documents

Primeros Libros de las Américas: http://primeroslibros.org

Of the approximately 220 titles known to have been printed in Mexico in the 16^th century, 136 titles are known to have survived to the present day. This website compiles all known copies of these texts. The list of partners is also a useful resource: http://primeroslibros.org/about_partners.html?lang=en

Biblioteca Nacional de España, Biblioteca Digital Hispánica: http://www.bne.es/es/Catalogos/BibliotecaDigitalHispanica/Inicio/index.html

Codex Duran : http://bdh-rd.bne.es/viewer.vm?id=0000169486&page=1

Real Academia de la Historia, Biblioteca Digital: http://bibliotecadigital.rah.es/dgbrah/es/estaticos/contenido.cmd?pagina=estaticos/presentacion Relación de Texupa: http://bibliotecadigital.rah.es/dgbrah/es/consulta/registro.cmd?id=15872

Vatican Library: http://www.mss.vatlib.it/guii/scan/link.jsp

Codex Borgia: http://digi.vatlib.it/view/MSS_Borg.mess.1

Codex Vaticanus A: http://digi.vatlib.it/view/MSS_Vat.lat.3738

Codex Vaticanus B: http://digi.vatlib.it/view/MSS_Vat.lat.3773

British Museum: http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/search.aspx

Codex Zouche-Nuttall: http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/collection_object_details.aspx?objectId=662517&partId=1

Codex Sanchez Solis/Egerton: http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/collection_object_details.aspx?objectId=477385&partId=1

Codex Kingsborough:

http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/collection_object_details.aspx?objectId=662793&partId=1

and others, including facsimiles:

http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/search.aspx?searchText=mexican+codex

University of Texas Benson Library: https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/benson/rg/rg1.html

Collection of Relaciones Geográficas documents

Bibliotheque Nationale de France: http://archivesetmanuscrits.bnf.fr

Codex Xolotl
http://archivesetmanuscrits.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/cc71719k
1: http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b10303816n/f1.item.zoom
2: http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b103038190/f1.item.zoom
3: http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b103038228/f1.item.zoom

4-10: http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b103038262/f1.item.zoom

Mapa de Quinatzin

1-2: http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b103038173/f2.image.r=Quinatzin

3: http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b10303825m/f1.item.r=Quinatzin

Mexicain 18-19: Tonalamatl

http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b530134076/f1.image

Lienzo de Quauhquechollolan: https://lienzo.ufm.edu/

Compilation sites :

William Ringle’s Digital Resources for the Study of Prehispanic Mexico:

http://www.smokingmirror.org/Central_Mexican_resources/ant356_links.html

Codex Boturini interactive : http://www.smokingmirror.org/Boturini/webpage/Boturini_timemap.html#/

and Maya resources: http://www.smokingmirror.org/Maya_resources/Maya_resources.html

Amoxcalli: http://amoxcalli.org.mx

Facsimiles of many codices, maps, and other pictorial documents (http://amoxcalli.org.mx/codices.php) as well as manuscripts (http://amoxcalli.org.mx/manuscritos.php) and a dictionary (http://amoxcalli.org.mx/diccionario.php)

Foundation for Ancient Mesoamerican Studies (FAMSI): http://www.famsi.org/index.html

Includes facsimiles of Prehispanic codices (http://www.famsi.org/research/graz/index.html): the ever-useful Bibliografia Mesoamericana (http://research.famsi.org/mesobib.php) and other useful resources.

The Mapas Project, University of Oregon: http://mapas.uoregon.edu/index.lasso

A compilation of maps from Mexico and Guatemala, including several Relación Geográfica maps but many more as well.

Fordham Codices page: https://codexaubin.ace.fordham.edu/codices

Flippable versions of the Codex Aubin, Codex Boturini/Tira de la Peregrinación, Codex Mendoza, Codex Telleriano-Remensis, Codex Azcatitlan, and Tira de Tepechpan, along with ongoing transcription and translation projects

Mesolore: http://www.mesolore.org/

Resources on Mesoamerican writing systems, the Codex Nutall, the Matricula de Tributos, the Lienzo de Tlaxcala, and other documents.

Mexicolore: http://www.mesolore.org/

Informative articles on a variety of Aztec and Maya topics, mostly written by scholars in the field

Mesoweb: http://www.mesoweb.com/

This website is more oriented towards the Classic Maya, but contains a number of useful resources