CHM 231: Organic Chemistry (Houtchens)
Need more help?
Learning Outcomes
During the course of this project, students will exposed to the literature of chemistry. Using resources from this library guide they will be able to:
- Identify compounds and synonyms
- Find the Molecular Formula for a substance
- Find the CAS number for a substance
- Find the Physical Properties and characterics
- Find the compound name, CAS Number and Molecular formula
Students may use the following research tools to find chemical information:
- Knovel
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- Merck Index
Not available online; click on link to see where print copies are available. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Tools for Lab Reports
- CASSI Search Tool - Title AbbreviationsUse this tool to decipher journal title abbreviations from the Merck Index.
- NLM Journals Database - Title AbbreviationsAnother tool to help decipher journal title abbreviations.
Getting Started
In order to thoroughly research your compound, you will need the following:
- Compound name
- Approved by your instructor
- Synonyms
- Molecular Formula
- CAS Number
This information can be found in the following resources:
- Merck IndexNot Available online. Click on link to see where print copies are available. Look in text for "Prepn" to find references to preparations/syntheses.
- Knovel-Electronic library of science and engineering handbooks and databases.
-Search "My Subscription" only.
-Contains synonyms, CAS Registry Numbers, molecular formulas as well as background information. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCAS Numbers, Molecular Formulas and physical properties for typical reagents used in the lab.
Additional Resources
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology(4th edition) Provides in-depth articles about the chemical industry. Covers all aspects of applied chemistry including both chemicals/materials and related topics.
- Encyclopedia of Life SciencesLooking for background information? Use the "Search within this Book" link to limit your search to this resource. Don't forget to take a look at the reference section for more information.
- PubChem SubstanceSearch for your compound and use the links listed under Literature to find primary articles on "chemical synthesis" and "biosynthesis."
Synthesis of a Compound
- Kirk-Othmer Encycyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyOverview of the synthesis
- Merck IndexNot available online. Click on link to see where print copies are available. Look in the text for "Prepn"; these are references to preparations and syntheses.
- Organic SynthesisSyntheses that may not be listed elsewhere.
- PubChem SubstanceSearch for your compound and use the links listed under Literature to find primary articles on "chemical synthesis" and "biosynthesis."
- Pharmaceutical Manufacturing EncyclopediaManufacturing process of pharmaceuticals
Reactions
Named Reactions:
- Merck IndexNot available online. Click on link to see where print copies are available. Look in the text of each entry for "Prepn" references to preparations and/or syntheses.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyIndustrially important substances and reactions
History
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyIndustrially important substances and reactions:
- Pharmaceutical Manufacturing EncyclopediaManufacturing process of pharmaceuticals
Toxicology, Safety and Environmental Information
The following resources provide information about the toxic effects, safety issues and environmental concerns of compounds.
Economic Information
- Commercial Availability
- Company Catalogs on the Internet
- Industry Issues and Pricing
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
