Earth Sciences
Need more help?
Databases
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new windowGeoScienceWorld is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive resource for research and communications in the earth sciences. Searchable full text is integrated with GeoRef, a comprehensive indexing and abstracting database for information from geosciences journals, conference, dissertation and other resources. Coverage for GSW journals is mostly 2000 to present, with records from GeoRef covering geosciences literature from the late 1700's to present. Advanced search capabilities, including geographic searching by latitude and longitude, variety of options for limiting results sets, and other features are available.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Access over 800 full-text journals, monographs, curated open-access content, and historical records spanning topics like ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, and sustainability.
- USGS Publications WarehouseThe U.S. Geological Survey Publications Warehouse provides access to over 170,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the last 100+ year history of the bureau.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Leading index for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters in science, technology, medicine, and other fields, with full-text access limited to subscribed titles.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including journal articles, conference papers, and patents across various disciplines, offering tools for citation analysis, research tracking, and academic collaboration.
Preprint Servers
Preprint servers are online repositories that contain early versions of scientific articles prior to formal peer review. These types of repositories allow scientists to share their research quickly and often free of charge. Repositories may also include postprints, versions of manuscripts that have been peer reviewed and accepted for publication but have not been typeset and formatted by the journal.
- EarthArXivEarthArXiv is a preprint server that publishes articles from all the subdomains of Earth Science and related domains of planetary science.
- ESSOArThe Earth and Space Science Open Archive is a community server for earth, environmental, and space science research. ESSOAr contains preprints, presentations from major scientific meetings, and important documents of scholarly societies.
How to Create an Effective Search in an Article-Indexing Database
- Write the topic in one simple sentence or as a simple question.
Example: How can airplane cockpit design be improved? - Divide the sentence into concepts.
Concept #1: airplane
Concept #2: cockpit
Concept #3: design - For each concept, determine synonyms, acronyms, abbreviations, spelling variations.
Concept #1: airplane, aeroplane
Concept #2: cockpit
Concept #3: design - For each concept, place the keywords within parentheses and separate by "OR".
Concept #1: (airplane or aeroplane)
Concept #2: (cockpit)
Concept #3: (design) - Combine the concepts into one search statement separating the concepts by "AND".
(airplane or aeroplane) and (cockpit) and (design) - Refine the strategy as new/better terminology is discovered via database searching.
For example, in the EI Compendex database, the term "aircraft" is used instead of airplane. - Repeat the search with the new terminology.
(airplane or aeroplane or aircraft) and (cockpit) and (design) - Refine the search as many times as needed.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
