HST 591: History of Economics & Business
Company Histories
If your company still exists, check the corporate web site for any ABOUT or HISTORY pages. Some additional information may be on the INVESTOR RELATIONS pages. Some companies do maintain corporate archives, however, once a company ceases to exist, the archives are often "lost". Please contact either Ed Oetting or Jenny Mueller-Alexander for assistance if you think you need access to a company archive.
If your company has changed ownership over time, the Background Sources below can provide more context -- social situations, business dealings and rivalries, industry conditions, economics, etc.
Background Sources
International directory of company histories.
Publication date: 1988-Shows the interconnectedness of companies with name and ownership changes with social context included. We have 1988-2009 in paper and the rest are online.- Shows the interconnectedness of companies with name and ownership changes with social context included. Best searched by company name.
Company histories are under the toolbar Companies -- Company Histories then by company name. National Cyclopaedia of American Biography:
Being the History of the United States as Illustrated in the Lives of the Founders, Builders, and Defenders of the Republic, and of the Men and Women Who Are Doing the Work and Moulding the Thought of the Present Time.
Much of this set is full text in the Hathi Trust or you can request the paper copies.
- Mergent Archives This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1900
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Archives collections of corporate and industry related documents provided by Mergent. The Corporate and Municipal Manuals collections reproduce the print Mergent Manuals (aka Moody's Manuals) back to the early 1900's, and include the Municipal and Government Manual which is not covered by Mergent Online where the latest annual information from the other manuals resides. The Annual Report collection provides corporate annual reports since the early 1900s. The Industry Report collection archives the broad industry sector reports from Mergent Online. The Equity Report collection archives the investment analysis reports from Mergent InvestorEdge.
Background Sources by Industry
The Automobile Industry, 1896-1920 by ISBN: 0816020841Publication date: 1990-06-01This landmark reference chronicles the story of many major U.S. industries from their beginnings to the present day and offers a wealth of information on each industry, including key figures, corporations, inventions, technologies, historical background, marketing concepts, regulations, and legislation. Here readers will find all the people, events, and accomplishments that enriched this remarkable era.
The Automobile Industry, 1920-1980 by ISBN: 0816020833Publication date: 1989-10-01Part of a series which explores the history of American business, this volume continues the story of the American automobile industry from its pioneering days to the present. Prominent companies and figures such as Henry Ford, Walter Chrysler and the Dodge brothers are examined in detail.
The Iron and Steel Industry in the 20th Century by ISBN: 0816021953Publication date: 1993-12-01This volume, part of an encyclopaedic series covering the history of American business, is specifically concerned with the development of iron and steel in the 20th century, starting from World War I and going on to the modern uses of alloys and stainless steels.
The Iron and Steel Industry in the Nineteenth Century by ISBN: 0816018901Publication date: 1988-12-01
Railroads of the 19th Century by ISBN: 0816020124Publication date: 1988-10-01This landmark reference chronicles the story of many major U.S. industries from their beginnings to the present day and offers a wealth of information on each industry, including key figures, corporations, inventions, technologies, historical background, marketing concepts, regulations, and legislation. This volume traces the origins of the American railroad industry during the 1820s and its great growth throughout the nineteenth century.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
