Historical Fiction
Featured Books from ASU Library Collections
Reading Historical Fiction by ISBN: 1137291540Publication date: 2012This collection examines the intersection of historical recollection, strategies of representation, and reading practices in historical fiction from the eighteenth century to today. In shifting focus to the agency of the reader and taking a long historical view, the collection brings a new perspective to the field of historical representation.
African American Women Writers' Historical Fiction by ISBN: 9780230112537Publication date: 2011This volume explores African American historical fiction written by women in the last four decades of the twentieth century. Comprehensive in scope, this book refers to over thirty authors whose work has contributed to the tradition, from Margaret Walker to Sherley Anne Williams to Toni Morrison. Ana Nunes’s approach to the text emphasizes the narrative and thematic achievements of individual novels against the backdrop of the main trends and developments of the contemporary African American historical novel.
Historical Fiction Set in Medieval Britain: An Annotated Bibliography by ISBN: 9781876586256Publication date: 2015This is an annotated bibliography of fiction set in Medieval Britain and published from the fifteenth century to the present day. It covers more than 3,000 books set in Arthurian Britain, during the Saxon / Viking period, the Norman Conquest, and through the time of Robin Hood, the Hundred Years' War, and to the end of the Wars of the Roses in 1485. Around 2,000 of the entries are illustrated with covers of the books (all in color), and there are three indices covering authors, titles, and also locations where the novels are set.
The Readers' Advisory Guide to Historical Fiction by ISBN: 9780838912461Publication date: 2015Whether set in ancient Egypt, Feudal Japan, the Victorian Age, or Civil War-era America, historical fiction places readers squarely at the center of fascinating times and places, making it one of the most popular genres in contemporary publishing. The definitive resource for librarians and other book professionals, this guide provides an overview of historical fiction’s roots, highlighting foundational classics, and explores the genre in terms of its scope and style. Covers the latest and most popular authors and titles.
Includes lists of recommendations, with a compendium of print and web-based resources.
Redefining Latin American Historical Fiction by ISBN: 9781137277565Publication date: 2013Current scholarship on Latin American historical fiction has failed to adequately take feminism and postcolonialism into account. In this collection of essays, noted scholars use these important contemporary discourses as a starting point for a new definition of the Latin American historical novel that includes four categories: fiction about the search for national identity, magical realism, narrative with historical intertextuality, and symbolic historical fiction. These categories show how the novel evolves through a new emphasis on women and the colonial subject in key texts by Claribel Alegría, Edgardo Rodríguez Juliá, Cristina Peri Rossi, Reinaldo Arenas, Antonio Benítez-Rojo, Ana Teresa Torres, Tomás Eloy Martínez, Ana María Gonçalves, and Mario Vargas Llosa.
Research Resources
Journal Articles
Academic Search Premier: A multidisciplinary article database which covers thousands of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Content may fluctuate at the publishers’ discretion.
Literature Criticism Online: A comprehensive compilation of literary commentary, including Children's literature review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (1981–), Poetry Criticism (1991–), Shakespearean Criticism (1984–), Short Story Criticism (1988–), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (1978–).
Litearture Resource Center: Includes biographies, bibliographies & critical analysis of authors from every age & literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists &other writers. Includes full text of journals on literature and literary criticism
MLA International Bibliography: Indexes articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, etc.
Organizations
Historical Novel Society: This organziation promotes the enjoyment of historical fiction through its print magazine Historical Novels Review, conferences, book awards, guides, and social media.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
