Historical Newspapers and Periodicals - Primary Sources - Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Online Historical Newspapers & Periodicals - UK & Beyond

British Library Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. Includes complete collection covering England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.
British Periodicals, I-IV This link opens in a new window
British Periodicals Collections I-IV (from ProQuest) provides facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the seventeenth century through the twentieth. The equivalent of more than 6 million pages from nearly 500 popular periodicals. Subject areas emphasized include archaeology, architecture, art, drama, fine arts, history, literature, music, philosophy, science and social sciences.
Economist Historical Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to present (with the exception of the last five years). Each weekly issue contains news reporting and analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Includes every significant English and foreign-language title printed in the UK, along with important works from the Americas between 1701 and 1800, comprising over 32 million pages of text across 180,000 titles and 205,000 volumes.
Alternate titles: 18th Century Collections Online, ECCO, Part I and II
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Journals draws together material from some of the finest archives across the UK and the US representing the rich variety of the eighteenth century press. It makes available unique and extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals online conveying the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835. While the journals were published predominantly in the UK, there are items published in other English-speaking areas such as India.
The Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Moscow News Digital Archive offers scholars the most comprehensive collection available for this title. Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia. The pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. The Moscow News Digital Archive contains most published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Guardian (1821- 2003); The Observer (1791-2003)
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
United Kingdom This digital archive includes the Guardian (currently published daily) and The Observer (currently published Sunday). More than 212 years of continuous, independent reporting that covers the arts, politics, business, and sports.
Alternate titles: Guardian, Observer, ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
A digitized and searchable version of Reverend Charles Burney's collection of 17th and 18th-century newspapers, pamphlets, proclamations, and books, including titles from England, Scotland, Ireland, and several British colonies.
Sunday Times Historical Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full run of a British weekly newspaper noted for its analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.
Times Digital Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
A full-text facsimile of The Times, detailing every page of every issue from 1785, making it an essential resource for the study of 19th and 20th-century history and literature.
World Newspaper Archive, Africa This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1805-1925
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A collection on nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe. It provides access to African Newspapers, Series 1 & 2.
Alternate titles: World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers, World Newspaper Archive
World Newspaper Archive: Latin America This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 19th and 20th centuries, spanning 1822-1922
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A fully searchable collection of 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin America. Available here: Latin American Newspapers Series 1, 1805-1922 and Series 2, 1822-1922. LAN I includes access to many fully searchable historical Latin American newspapers published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela. LAN II, includes coverage of important countries such as Bolivia, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Belize.
Alternate titles: World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers, Part I & II

Online Historical Newspapers & Periodicals - North America

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 19th-century African American newspapers, offering firsthand accounts of cultural life, historical events, and major issues in African American communities, making it an essential resource for studying this period.
Coverage: Varies 1827- 1902
Publications included: The Canadian Observer, The Christian Recorder; The Colored American; Frederick Douglass’ Paper; The Freedmen’s Record; Frederick Douglass Monthly; Freedom’s Journal; The National Era; The Negro Business League Herald; The North Star; Provincial Freeman; Weekly Advocate.
African History and Culture, 1540-1921 This link opens in a new window
Created from the holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, African History and Culture, 1540-1921, is a comprehensive collection of fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera covering the history, peoples, and social and economic development of the African continent from the 16th century to the early 20th century. All areas of Africa and important adjacent regions are covered.
America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: African History and Culture, 1540-1921: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; The American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.
Includes: Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819, Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800, Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819, Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
Civil War Collection This link opens in a new window
Search primary sources from 1855-1869, featuring articles on international trade, foreign perspectives on the U.S. during the Civil War, diverse views on industries, slavery, and pre- and post-war attitudes, along with detailed reports on troop movements.
Collection includes:
- Part I: A Newspaper Perspective: Contains the full text of major articles from issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
- Part II: The Soldiers’ Perspective: Provides an in-depth look at the day-to-day actions of the troops themselves primarily in the form of regimental histories.
- Part III: The Generals’ Perspective: These volumes allow a look into the way the battles within the war were fought. Here the emphasis is on strategies and tactics as planned and executed by the commanding officers, with a longer-term view as opposed to daily concerns.
- Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective: This collection consists of seven newspapers published in Indiana between 1855 and 1869. Thus, it provides pre-and post-Civil War information in addition to coverage of the war itself.
Early American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1690-1876
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and provides unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods. Additionally, EAN, Series I is cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana® collections held by ASU Library.
Alternate titles: America’s Historical Newspapers-Early American Newspapers Series I
Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1808-1980
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Hispanic American Newspapers provides access to a wealth of historical primary source materials. It's the largest online collection of Spanish-English newspapers printed in the United States.
The Lily, 1849-1856 This link opens in a new window
The first newspaper for women in the United States, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894). Its local and national focus was both temperance and women’s rights.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
Pennsylvania Gazette: 1728-1800 This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection covers significant events from early colonial expansion (1728) through the American Revolution, the Constitutional Convention, and Washington’s presidency, providing vital insights into U.S. history up to 1800.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A collection of historically significant African American newspapers which provides primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts.
Alternate titles: Black Newspapers Collection

Wikipedia list of newspaper archives
This is a list of free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives. Most are scanned from microfilm into pdf, gif or similar graphic formats and many of the graphic archives have been indexed into searchable text databases.

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection: The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. States included in this essential and invaluable digital repository are: Alabama; Arizona; California; Colorado; District of Columbia; Florida; Hawaii; Illinois; Kansas; Kentucky; Louisiana; Minnesota; Missouri; Montana; Nebraska; New Mexico; New York; Ohio; Oklahoma; Oregon; Pennsylvania; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Utah; Vermont; Virginia; Washington(state). For Further information concerning the history of American Newspapers, use the Library of Congress' US Newspaper Directory, 1690 - Present

Historical African American Newspapers Online: This LibGuide produced by Elizabeth Clarke of Marist College provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922; Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; ;ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990

20th & 21st Century US Newspapers

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from several thousand U.S. and international newspapers and newswire sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Also includes broadcast transcripts, business magazines and miscellaneous other source types.
Arizona Republic This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1999 +
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Contains full text of most articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. Does not include images and advertisements. For access to older locally-networked articles, 1987- June 2009, see: CD-News: Arizona Republic
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1990 +
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Ethnic NewsWatch includes articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and academic journals from minority presses including African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native American.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1985 +
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Full text of the Los angeles Times
Alternate titles: ProQuest Newspapers: Los Angeles Times, LA Times
NewsBank NewsFile CDROM : Historical Files 1980 - 1998 This link opens in a new window
Due to software requirements, the CDROMs for the Arizona Republic and Arizona Business Gazette are temporarily unavailable.
Coverage: 1980 - 1998
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Provides full text access to selected articles from over 500 U. S. and Canadian newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts. Includes: NewsBank Reference Services Plus, (CD-ROM) (1980-1996) which provides citations to the microfiche collection of the full text articles; Comprehensive CD NewsBank (1993-1996) which includes full text on the CD; NewsBank Newsfile (1996-1998) which includes full text on the CD.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Provides full text of selected newspapers worldwide, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, biographies, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, and news transcripts.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Allows for cross-searching of the Alt-PressWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch indexes as well as current Arizona Republic, Barron's, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Wall Street Journal Asia, Wall Street Journal Europe and Chicago Tribune and historical Atlanta Constitution, Guardian, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Observer, Washington Post, Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, and Pittsburgh Courier
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Coverage: WSJ.com archives go back four years and are on a rolling basis.
National daily newspaper that provides access to news, information, commentary, and analysis with an emphasis on business and financial news. The Wall Street Journal includes coverage of U.S. and world news, education, politics, technology, real estate, sports, health, and the arts.

Note: ASU users (Students, faculty and staff) must initially register by logging into school portal, and creating an account on the registration page to access Wall Street Journal (WSJ) by following these steps. Once activated, you can access all content from a web browser, as well as via smartphone and tablet apps, from any location.

*If you already have a personal paid subscription, please call at 1-800JOURNAL or email support@wsj.com to cancel it and sign up for an account through the library.*

1. Go to the WSJ registration page: https://WSJ.com/ArizonaState
2. Enter first and last name
3. Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
4. Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
Please note: The password must be at least 5 characters long with a maximum of 15 characters, contain at least one number, and does NOT contain spaces, %, & or +
5. Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
6. Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/ or through the app.

RENEWALS: *STUDENT* member's accounts stay active until their graduation dates. *FACULTY AND STAFF* need to validate their memberships once a year from the ASU URL: https://WSJ.com/ArizonaState
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1984+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Accesses articles from the Wall Street Journal, the financial newspaper of record in the US. WSJ offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as firstrate coverage of hard news.
Alternate titles: ProQuest Newspapers: Wall Street Journal