Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key ASU Library Resources and Services
ASU Library Subscriptions
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines.
ASU Library Catalog
Search for books with subject term "technology assessment"
The Cochrane library provides access to evidence based research including cochrane systematic reviews and clincial trials. It also provides information on the effects of interventions in health care and evidence to support health care decisions.
Congressional Research Service Search
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.
In-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
National Academy of Sciences
PNAS is one of the world's most-cited and comprehensive multidisciplinary scientific journals, publishing more than 3,100 research papers annually. Established in 1914, PNAS publishes cutting-edge research, science news, Commentaries, Reviews, Perspectives, Colloquium Papers, and actions of the National Academy of Sciences.
OECD iLibrary - Science and Technology
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
PAIS defines the "realm of public policy" as all subjects that bear on contemporary issues and the making and evaluating of public policy, irrespective of source or traditional disciplinary boundaries. This includes the policy oriented literature of the academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations, the environment, demography, public health, science and technology, and reports and commentary on public affairs from the serious general press.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
A comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses that includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and provides strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Ross-Blakley Law Library - Law and Science Research Guide
The purpose of the Law and Science Research Guide is to provide a starting point to subject materials that support the curriculum of the ASU College of Law. This portal brings together in one place many scientific and legal resources available to ASU students including databases, indexes, and full text electronic journals. The guide also highlights authoritative websites devoted to the intersection of law and science.
Sage Knowledge: Sage Reference Online Handbook Collection
SAGE Knowledge is a social sciences digital library that includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
Full text of several products from Science Magazine: Science Magazine (global weekly of research); Science Advances (open access); ScienceNow (daily news service); Science'sNext Wave (career development in science); & Science Careers (job search, meetings, grad programs).
Government Science and Technology Resources
Office of Technology Assessment Archive
The OTA Archive contains all the formally issued reports of the Office of Technology Assessment, as well as many background papers and contractor papers, over 100,000 pages of the best available analyses of the scientific and technical policy issues of the 1970s-1990s.
Congressional Office of Technology Assessment - Legacy Site
OTA was a leader in practicing and encouraging delivery of public services in innovative and inexpensive ways, including distribution of government documents through electronic publishing. This site honors that legacy by making available in electronic form the complete collection of OTA publications along with additional materials that illuminate the history and impact of the agency.
Catalog of United States Government Publications
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is an index to print and electronic publications created by Federal agencies. When available, links are provided to the full-text of these publications. The locate libraries feature enables users to find libraries that can make print publications available for their use.
Defense Technical Information Center
The largest central resource for DoD and government-funded research, development, technical, and engineering information. DTIC enables the defense research and development community to maximize the availability, use and collaboration of the almost 4,000,000 technical records resulting from Defense-funded technical activities. Approximately half of the records are available for the public to search, free of charge, through this site.
DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information
OSTI is the Department of Energy (DOE) office that collects, preserves, and disseminates DOE-sponsored R&D results that are the outcomes of R&D projects or other funded activities at DOE labs and facilities nationwide and grantees at universities and other institutions. The information is typically in the form of technical documents, conference papers, articles, multimedia, and software, collectively referred to as scientific and technical information (STI).
GAO - Technology and Science
GAO provides Congress with thorough and balanced analysis of technological and scientific developments that affect our society, environment, and economy. To enhance our ability to do this, we established the Science, Technology Assessment, and Analytics team in January 2019.
GAO Reports and Testimony - Science and Technology
The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
Homeland Security - Science and Technology
The Science and Techology Directorate (S&T) manages science and technology research to protect the homeland, from development through transition for Department components and first responders.
Library of Congress, Science Reference Services
Includes bibliographies, research guides, and web resources from the world's largest library.
MetaLib is a government library portal providing end users with an easy and personalized interface which can search simultaneously for information in a variety of electronic resources, such as catalogs, reference databases, digital repositories or subject-based Web gateways.
National Institute of Standards and Technology
NIST is one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. Congress established the agency to remove a major handicap to U.S. industrial competitiveness at the time—a second-rate measurement infrastructure that lagged behind the capabilities of the United Kingdom, Germany, and other economic rivals. Today, NIST measurements support the smallest of technologies—nanoscale devices so tiny that tens of thousands can fit on the end of a single human hair—to the largest and most complex of human-made creations, from earthquake-resistant skyscrapers to wide-body jetliners to global communication networks.
National Science Foundation
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" With an annual budget of $7.3 billion (FY 2015), we are the funding source for approximately 24 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.
Nuclear Regulatory Committee
The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) was created as an independent agency by Congress in 1974 to ensure the safe use of radioactive materials for beneficial civilian purposes while protecting people and the environment. The NRC regulates commercial nuclear power plants and other uses of nuclear materials, such as in nuclear medicine, through licensing, inspection and enforcement of its requirements.
The Office of Technology Assessment: History, Authorities, Issues, and Options - CRS Report
Describes historical mission, organizational structure, funding, staffing, operations, and perceived strengths and weakness of Office of Technology Assessment, established under P.L. 92-484, the Office of Technology Assessment Act of 1972, to provide Congress with early indications of the probable beneficial and adverse impacts of technology applications. Discusses issues and options surrounding reestablishing the agency or its functions. Includes a table and graphs.
Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Science.gov provides a search of over 55 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2100 scientific Websites
Technology Assessment Program
The Technology Assessment (TA) Program at the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) provides technology assessments for the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). These technology assessments are used by CMS to inform its national coverage decisions for the Medicare program as well as provide information to Medicare carriers.
White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
The mission of the Office of Science and Technology Policy is threefold; first, to provide the President and his senior staff with accurate, relevant, and timely scientific and technical advice on all matters of consequence; second, to ensure that the policies of the Executive Branch are informed by sound science; and third, to ensure that the scientific and technical work of the Executive Branch is properly coordinated so as to provide the greatest benefit to society.
Non-Government Science and Technology Resources
AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE
The AAAS seeks to "advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people."
Baker Institute for Public Policy
The mission of the Science and Technology Policy Program is to engage policymakers and scientists in substantive dialogue with the hope that policy will more accurately reflect and be more consistent with current scientific knowledge.
California Technology Assessment Forum
CTAF directly engages clinicians, patients, and payers during public meetings to discuss implications of the evidence for clinical decision-making and coverage policies. Application of evidence takes shape through new medical policies, benefit designs, and patient and clinician tools to improve clinical care and patient outcomes.
Center for Science and Technology Policy Research
CSTPR has closed May 31, 2020:
seeks to improve how science and technology policies address societal needs, through research, education and service.
Harvard Kennedy School - Think Tank Search
Think Tanks are organizations that conduct research, publish reports, and provide advocacy in a variety of areas of public interest. They may be non-profit, funded by business associations or advocacy groups, or run by the government.
Be sure to look at the 'Related Links"
Health Technology Assessment
International resources from the Government of Western Australia
MIT partners, the Comprehensive Initiative on Technology Evaluation (CITE)
Launched at MIT in 2012 with a consortium of MIT partners, the Comprehensive Initiative on Technology Evaluation (CITE) was established to develop new methods for product evaluation in global development. MIT CITE was the first-ever program dedicated to developing methods for product evaluation in global development.
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and the world. Our work helps shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine.
The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis.
Comprehensive Initiative on Technology Evaluation (CITE)
Established to develop new methods for product evaluation in global development. MIT CITE was the first-ever program dedicated to developing methods for product evaluation in global development.
European Parliamentary Technology Assessment!
The EPTA partners advise parliaments on the possible social, economic and environmental impact of new sciences and technologies.
The common aim is to provide impartial and high quality accounts and reports of developments in issues such as for example bioethics and biotechnology, public health, environment and energy, ICTs, and R&D policy.
Health Technology Assessment
Key international HTA resources from the Government of Western Australia
Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS)
ITAS is the leading international institution for technology assessment. We contribute to exploiting the potential of technical progress while minimizing its risks. Our addressees are politics, business, and society – the actors who shape scientific and technological progress. We offer them knowledge for action and point out possible solutions to global challenges.
Institute of Technology Assessment of the Austrian Academy of Sciences
The ITA deals with the impacts of new technologies on society, the environment and the economy. It carries out scientific technology assessment (TA) on a variety of topics.The results of this work support policy-makers, administration and the public with regard to issues of technology policy.
International Association for Impact Assessment - Key Citations
Somewhat dated - The references provided are an indicative overview of the field and establish what might be regarded as the core literature. They include a selection of currently available textbooks published by commercial publishers, a
selection of journal articles from the last 10 or so years, and
key official documents. Some historically significant articles
are also included.
International Center for Technology Assessment
The International Center for Technology Assessment (CTA) is a non-profit, bi-partisan organization committed to providing the public with full assessments and analyses of technological impacts on society. CTA is devoted to fully exploring the economic, ethical, social, environmental and political impacts that can result from the applications of technology or technological systems.
The International Network of Agencies for Health Technology Assessment
INAHTA is a network that connects HTA agencies to each other to support knowledge sharing and the exchange of information, and also to serve as a forum for the identification and promotion of other interests of HTA agencies.
Panel for the Future of Science and Technology
Many of the issues coming before the EP decision-makers have a scientific or technological dimension to them. Scientific and technological advances lie at the heart of economic growth, and it is necessary to understand the impact of new and emerging technologies and how to best support technological innovation. In this context, there is a growing need for legislators and policy-makers at national and European level to rely on independent, impartial and accessible information about developments in science and technology (S&T), the opportunities they offer, but also the risks they entail and their ethical implications.
The Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology
POST produces impartial, non-partisan, and peer-reviewed briefings, designed to make scientific research accessible to the UK Parliament. The briefings come in the form of POSTnotes and POSTbriefs. Timely and forward thinking, they cover the areas of biology and health, energy and environment, physical sciences and computing, and social sciences.
A Practitioner’s Guide for Technology Evaluation in Global Development
A user-friendly, step-by-step framework for conducting comparative product evaluations.
Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews, and Health Technology Assessments
Canadian and International resources from the University of Alberta Library
The TA Portal is intended to become a hub for information related to TA, a one-stop-service. Hence we aim at attracting eventually the whole TA community worldwide to join the Portal and to supply data. To be consistent and transparent vis-à-vis applicants wishing to be present on the Portal, the TA Portal Board has issued a policy outlining the eligibility criteria and the procedures for becoming a member of the Portal.
University of Sussex Business School SPRU - Science Policy Research Unit Study a Masters and/or PhD at SPRU The Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU)
University of Sussex Business School
SPRU - Science Policy Research Unit
Named best in the world for development studies for fourth year running in the 2020 QS World University Rankings
Study a Masters and/or PhD at SPRU
The Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU) is one of the world's leading centres of research on science, technology and innovation policy and management. Our work has a global impact on decision making for sustainable futures and we are internationally recognised as pioneers in our field.
World Health Organization Health Technology Assessment
The HTA approach is used to inform policy and decision-making in health care, especially on how best to allocate limited funds to health interventions and technologies. The assessment is conducted by interdisciplinary groups using explicit analytical frameworks, drawing on clinical, epidemiological, health economic and other information and methodologies.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.