Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

African American Experience & Race Relations in Books by ASU Faculty

Promotes book publications by current ASU faculty and staff which focus on African American experiences and / or American race relations, and 2) to make it easy for ASU students, faculty and staff to obtain access to this material.

Sorted by AUTHOR LAST NAME, Year of Publication & Title

Nieves, Angel David and Leslie M. Alexander. "We Shall Independent Be": African American Place Making and the Struggle to Claim Space in the United States. University Press of Colorado. 2008. Xvi, 538 p.
E185.86 .W434 2008 West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Alexander, Leslie M. African or American?: Black Identity and Political Activism in New York City, 1784-1861. University of Illinois Press. 2008. Xxiv, 258 p.

Alexander, Leslie M and Walter C. Rucker, eds. Encyclopedia of African American History. ABC-CLIO. 2010. 3 vols., 1,136 p.

Anderson, Lisa M. Mammies No More: The Changing Image of Black Women on Stage and Screen. Rowman & Littlefield,. 1997. X, 147 p.
PS338.W6 A53 1997 Hayden Library Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Anderson, Lisa M. Black Feminisms in Contemporary Drama. University of Illinois Press. 2008. Viii, 142 p.
PS338.N4 A48 2008 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Stacks.

Anokye, Akua Duku and Jacqueline Brice-Finch, eds. Get It Together: Readings about African American Life. Longman. 2003. Xvii, 360 p.
E185.86 .G44 2003 West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Austin, Curtis J. Up Against the Wall: Violence in the Making and Unmaking of the Black Panther Party. University of Arkansas Press. 2006. Xxix, 456 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].
E185.615 .A88 2006 High Density Storage Collection Stacks

Austin, Curtis J.. Dare to Struggle: A History of the Black Power Movement. Rowman & Littlefield. 2021.

Bailey, Marlon M. Butch Queens Up in Pumps: Gender Performance, and Ballroom Culture in Detroit. University of Michigan Press. 2013. 296 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].
GV1749.5 .B35 2013 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

Bolton, Philathia, Cassander L. Smith, and Lee Bebout, eds. Teaching with Tension: Race, Resistance, and Reality in the Classroom. Northwestern University Press. 2019. Xi, 340 p.
LC1099.3 .T45 2019 Noble Library Stacks.

Bontemps, Alex. Ill. Johnny Mercer. Black Comanche Boy. Hill and Wang. 1970. 55 p.

Bontemps, Arna Alexander. Forever Free: Art by African-American Women, 1862-1980. Stephenson, Incorporated. 1980. Viii, 214 p.

Bontemps, Alex. The Punished Self: Surviving Slavery in the Colonial South. Cornell University Press. 2001. X, 224 p.
E443 .B66 2001 Hayden Library Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Stacks.

Bramlett-Solomon, Sharon and Meta G. Carstarphen. Race, Gender, Class and Media: Studying Mass Communication and Multiculturalism, 2nd ed. Kendall Hunt Publishing Company. 2014. Xi, 374 p.

Brooks, Scott. Black Men Can’t Shoot. University of Chicago Press. 2009. Xvii, 228 p.
GV885.73.P55 B76 2009 West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Paul, Susan. Ed. Lois Brown. Memoir of James Jackson: The Attentive Obedient Scholar, Who Died in Boston, October 31, 1833, Aged Six Years and Eleven Months. Harvard University Press. 2000, 1835. Ix, 169 p.
ACLS Humanities eBook.

Brown, Lois. The Encyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance. Facts on File. 2006. Ix, 612 p.

Brown, Lois. Pauline Elizabeth Hopkins. Black Daughter of the Revolution. University of North Carolina Press. 2008. Xiv, 690 p.
PS1999.H4226 Z58 2008 Downtown Phoenix campus Library Exhibit.

Chandler, Jennifer L.S. Colluding, Colliding, and Contending with Norms of Whiteness. Information Age Publishing. 2017. p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].
HT1575 .C43 2017 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

Houston, Marsha and Olga Idriss Davis, eds. Centering Ourselves: African American Feminist and Womanist Studies of Discourse. Hampton Press. 2002. Xvi, 252 p.
PE3102.N44 C46 2002 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

Davis, Thomas J. A Rumor of Revolt: The "Great Negro Plot" in Colonial New York. Free Press. 1985. Xv, 320 p.
F128.4 .D265 1985 High Density Storage Collection Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Conniff, Michael L. and Thomas J. Davis. Africans in the Americas: A History of the Black Diaspora. St. Martin's Press. 1994. Xi, 356 p.
E29.N3 C68 1994 Hayden Library Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) LIbrary Stacks.

Davis, Thomas J. Race Relations in America: A Reference Guide with Primary Documents. Greenwood Press. 2006. Xxx, 301 p.
E184.A1 D283 2006 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library.

Davis, Thomas J. Race Relations in the United States, 1940-1960. Greenwood Press. 2008. Xx, 192 p.

Davis, Thomas J. Plessy v. Ferguson. Greenwood. 2012. Xx, 238 p.

Davis, Thomas J. History of African Americans: Exploring Diverse Roots. Greenwood. 2016. Xxxiii, 271 p.

Fessenden, Tracy. Religion Around Billie Holiday. Pennsylvania State University Press. 2018.
ML420.H58 F47 2018 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

Florini, Sarah. Beyond Hashtags: Racial Politics and Black Digital Networks. New York University Press. 2019. Vii, 270 p.
P94.5.A37 F57 2019 Hayden Library Stacks [On order until 04/22/2020].

Rondilla, Joanne L., Rudy P. Guevarra Jr., and Paul Spickard, eds. Red and Yellow, Black and Brown: Decentering Whiteness in Mixed Race Studies. Rutgers University Press. 2017. Viii, 267 p.
E184.A1 R4185 2017 Hayden Library Stacks.

Guillory, Donald R. The Token Black Guide. n.p.. 2016. 264 p.

Guillory, Donald R. Bastards of the Bayou. Don Guillory. 2020. 203 p.

Hero, Rodney E. Faces of Inequality: Social Diversity in American Politics. Oxford University Press. 1998. Vii, 193 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].
E184.A1 H469 1998 Hayden Library Stacks.

Hero, Rodney E. Racial Diversity and Social Capital: Equality and Community in America. Cambridge University Press. 2007. Xviii, 200 p.
HN59.2 .H474 2007 Noble Library Stacks.

Hero, Rodney E. and Robert R. Preuhs. Black-Latino Relations in U.S. National Politics: Beyond Conflict or Cooperation. Cambridge University Press. 2013. Xvii, 252 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].

James, Stanlie M. and Abena P.A. Busia, eds. Theorizing Black Feminisms: The Visionary Pragmatism of Black Women. Routledge. 1993. Xiii, 300 p.
HQ1190 .T47 1993 Noble Library Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

James, Stanlie M and Claire C. Robertson, eds. Genital Cutting and Transnational Sisterhood: Disputing U.S. Polemics. University of Illinois Press. 2002. 169 p.
GN484 .G46 2002 Noble Library Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

James, Stanlie M., Frances Smith Foster, and Beverly Guy-Sheftall, eds. Still Brave: The Evolution of Black Women's Studies. Feminist Press. 2009. Xxviii, 444 p.
E185.86 .S765 2009 Hayden Library Stacks.

Lester, Neal A. Ntozake Shange: A Critical Study of the Plays. Garland Publishing. 1995. Xiv, 321 p.
PS3569.H3324 Z77 1995 Hayden Library Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Lester, Neal A. Understanding Zora Neale Hurston's Their Eyes Were Watching God: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents. Greenwood Press. 1999. Xvii, 176 p.
PS3515.U789 T638 1999 Downtown Phoenix campus Library Exhibit.

Curry-Evans, Kim, Neal A. Lester, Pamela Sneed, and Sonya Clark. HairStories. Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art. 2003. 64 p.
N8217.H27 H3 2003 High Density Storage Collection Stacks.

Lester, Neal A. Once Upon a Time in a Different World: Issues and Ideas in African American Children's Literature. Routledge. 2007. Xxvi, 278 p.
PS153.N5 L45 2007 Hayden Library Stacks & Polytechnic campus Library.

Lester, Neal A. and Maureen Daly Goggin. Racialized Politics of Desire in Personal Ads. Lexington Books. 2007. Xii, 207 p.
P120.S48 R33 2007 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

Lockard, Joe. Watching Slavery: Witness Texts and Travel Reports. Peter Lang. 2008. Xxxiii, 213 p.
E449 .L79 2008 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

McDermott, Monica. Working-Class White: The Making and Unmaking of Race Relations. University of California Press. 2006. Xiii, 196 p.
E184.A1 M136 2006 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections & High Density Storage Collection Stacks.

McDermott, Monica. Whiteness in America. Polity. 2020. Vi, 151 p.

McNeil, Elizabeth, Neal A. Lester, DoVeana S. Fulton, and Lynette D. Myles, eds. Sapphire's Literary Breakthrough: Erotic Literacies, Feminist Pedagogies, Environmental Justice Perspectives. Palgrave Macmillan. 2012.
PS3569.A63 Z75 2012 Hayden Library Stacks.

Miller, Keith D. Voice of Deliverance: The Language of Martin Luther King, Jr., and Its Sources. Free Press / Maxwell Macmillan Canada / Maxwell Macmillan International. 1992. 282 p.
E185.97.K5 M49 1992 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections, Noble Library Exhibit, & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Quashie, Kevin Everod, R. Joyce Lausch, and Keith D. Miller, eds. New Bones: Contemporary Black Writers in America. Prentice Hall. 2001. Xviii, 1128 p., [4].
PS508.N3 N47 2001 Hayden Library Stacks.

Miller, Keith D. Martin Luther King’s Biblical Epic: His Final, Great Speech. University Press of Mississippi. 2012. Xiii, 245 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].

Baker, Rene Billups with Keith D. Miller. My Life with Charles Billups and Martin Luther King: Trauma and the Civil Rights Movement. Peacock Proud Press. 2019. 112 p.
E185.97.B45 M9 2019 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

Myles, Lynette D. Female Subjectivity in African American Women's Narratives of Enslavement: Beyond Borders. Palgrave Macmillan. 2009. X, 195 p.
PS153.N5 M95 2009 Hayden Library Stacks.

Lewis, Dan A. and Kathryn Nakagawa. Race and Educational Reform in the American Metropolis: A Study of School Decentralization. State University of New York Press. 1995. Xviii, 211 p.
LB2862 .L49 1994 High Density Storage Collection Stacks.

Ore, Ersula J. Lynching: Violence, Rhetoric, and American Identity. University Press of Mississippi. 2018. Xx, 175 p.
HV6457 .O74 2019 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

Quan, H.L.T., ed. Cedric J. Robinson: On Racial Capitalism, Black Internationalism, and Cultures of Resistance. Pluto Press. 2019. Xviii, 382 p.

Reyes, Angelita. Mothering Across Cultures: Postcolonial Representations. University of Minnesota Press. 2002. Xii, 244 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].
PN56.3.B55 R49 2002 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Voodoo Dreams: A Novel of Marie Laveau. St. Martin's Press. 1993. 436 p.
PS3568.H63 V6 1993 Hayden Library Stacks.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Magic City: A Novel. HarperCollins Publishers. 1997. 270 p.
PS3568.H63 M34 1997 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Free Within Ourselves: Fiction Lessons for Black Authors. Main Street Books / Doubleday. 1999. 342 p.
PN3423 .R49 1999 Hayden Library Stacks.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. The African American Guide to Writing and Publishing Non-Fiction. Broadway Books. 2001. X, 350 p.
PN161 .R45 2001 Hayden Library Stacks.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Douglass' Women: A Novel. Atria Books. 2002. 358 p.
PS3568.H63 D68 2002 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Voodoo Season: A Marie Laveau Mystery. Atria Books. 2005. 277 p.
PS3568.H63 V66 2005 Hayden Library Stacks.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Porch Stories. Atria Books. 2006. Ix, 161 p.
PS3568.H63 P67 2006 Hayden Library Stacks.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Yellow Moon. Atria Books. 2008. 293 p.
PS3568.H63 Y45 2008 Hayden Library Stacks.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Ninth Ward. Little, Brown and Company. 2010. 217 p.
Fic R346ni 2010 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections & Polytechnic campus Library Children and Young Adult.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Hurricane. Washingston Square Press. 2011. 277 p.
PS3568.H63 H87 2011 Hayden Library Stacks.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Sugar. Little, Brown and Company. 2013. 272 p.
FIc R346su 2013 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Children and Young Adult.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Bayou Magic. Little, Brown and Company. 2015. 239 p.
Fic R346ba 2015 West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Children and Young Adult.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Towers Falling. Little, Brown and Company. 2016. 228 p.
Fic R346to 2016 Hayden Library Children and Young Adult.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Ghost Boys. Little, Brown and Company. 2018. 214 p.
Fic R346gh 2018 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Black Brother, Black Brother. Little, Brown and Company. 2020. 239 p.
Downtown Phoenix campus Library [On order until 11/30/2020].

Schermerhorn, Calvin. Money Over Mastery, Family Over Freedom: Slavery in the Antebellum Upper South. Johns Hopkins University Press. 2011. Viii, 286 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].
E445.M3 S45 2011 Hayden Library Yucca Featured Collections.

Schermerhorn, Calvin. Rambles of a Runaway from Southern Slavery. University of Virginia Press. 2012. Xxxvi, 157 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].

Schermerhorn, Calvin. The Business of Slavery and the Rise of American Capitalism, 1815-1860. Yale University Press. 2015. Xi, 336 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [3 copies].
E442 .S34 2015 High Density Storage Collection & Hayden Library Yucca Featured Collections.

Schermerhorn, Calvin. Unrequited Toil: A History of United States Slavery. Cambridge University Press. 2018. Ix, 258 p.
E441 .S34 Hayden Library Stacks & Hayden Library Yucca Featured Collections.

Shabazz, Rashad. Spatializing Blackness: Architectures of Confinement and Black Masculinity in Chicago. University of Illinois Press. 2015. Xiii, 159 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].
F548.9.N4 S53 2015 Downtown Phoenix campus Library Exhibit.

Shropshire, Kenneth L.. In Black and White: Race and Sports in America. New York University Press. 1996. Xxvii, 212 p.
eBooks on EBSCOhost.
GV706.32 .S48 1996 Noble Library Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Boyd, Todd and Kenneth L. Shropshire, eds. Basketball Jones: America Above the Rim. New York University Press. 2000. Xx, 245 p.
GV889.26 .B28 2000 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.

Shropshire, Kenneth. Being Sugar Ray: The Life of Sugar Ray Robinson, America's Greatest Boxer and the First Celebrity Athlete. BasicCivitas. 2007. Xxv, 246 p.
GV1132.R6 S57 2007 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

Stancliff, Michael. Frances Ellen Watkins Harper: African American Reform Rhetoric and the Rise of a Modern Nation State. Taylor & Francis. 2010. Xx, 200 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access].

Sullivan, J.H.. Against the Tide: The Turbulent Times of a Black Entrepreneur. Strategic Media Books. 2016. Ix, 215 p.

Theisen-Homer, Victoria. Learning to Connect: Relationships, Race and Teacher Education. Rowman & Littlefield. 2020. 242 p.

Thompson, Ayanna, ed. Colorblind Shakespeare: New Perspectives on Race and Performance. Routledge. 2006. Xvii, 262 p.
PR3091 .C63 2006 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections & Hayden Library Stacks.

Thompson, Ayanna. Passing Strange: Shakespeare, Race, and Contemporary America. Oxford University Press. 2011. X, 224 p.
PR3091 .T53 2011 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.

McClean, Vernon and Cornelia Wells. Racism and Sexism: A Collaborative Study, 2nd ed. Kendall/Hunt Publishing Company. 2005. Xix, 559 p.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.